You are here

Kings Road Medical Centre Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 October 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Kings Road Medical Centre on 20 September 2016. The overall rating for the practice was requires improvement. The full comprehensive report on the September 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Kings Road Medical Centre on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 31 August 2017 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 20 September 2016. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice is now rated as good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The practice had made improvements in respect of the arrangements in place to manage fire safety.

  • Patients’ medical records were stored securely and confidentially.

  • Plans were in place to upgrade the branch practice.

  • Data from the Quality and Outcomes Framework showed patient outcomes had improved since our previous inspection.

  • Childhood immunisation rates had improved since our previous inspection.

  • The practice had drawn up an action plan to improve patient satisfaction with access.

The areas of practice where the provider needs to make further improvements are:

The provider should:

  • Continue to improve childhood immunisation rates to bring them in line with local and national averages.

  • Continue to monitor and act on feedback from patients.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing safe services. Improvement had been made in respect of the arrangements for the management of medical records and fire safety.

Effective

Good

Updated 4 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services. Improvement had been made in respect of Quality and Outcomes Framework (QOF) performance and childhood immunisation uptake.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services. This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in September 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services. This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in September 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing well-led services. This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in September 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 4 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for providing safe and effective services identified at our inspection on 20 September 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 4 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for providing safe and effective services identified at our inspection on 20 September 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Older people

Good

Updated 4 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for providing safe and effective services identified at our inspection on 20 September 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 4 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for providing safe and effective services identified at our inspection on 20 September 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 4 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for providing safe and effective services identified at our inspection on 20 September 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 4 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for providing safe and effective services identified at our inspection on 20 September 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.