You are here

Archived: The Acton Health Centre Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 January 2018

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

This practice is rated as Good overall. (Previous inspection 15 December 2015 – Good)

The key questions are rated as:

Are services safe? – Good

Are services effective? – Good

Are services caring? – Good

Are services responsive? – Good

Are services well-led? - Good

As part of our inspection process, we also look at the quality of care for specific population groups. The population groups are rated as:

Older People – Good

People with long-term conditions – Good

Families, children and young people – Good

Working age people (including those recently retired and students – Good

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable – Good

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia) - Good

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Dr Napolion Isaac on 15 December 2015. The overall rating for the practice was good. The full comprehensive report for 15 December 2015 can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr Napolion Isaac on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced comprehensive inspection carried out on 12 December 2017. The inspection was planned to check whether the provider is meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Health and Social Care Act 2008, to look at the overall quality of the service, and to provide a rating for the service under the Care Act 2014 as part of our inspection programme.

At this inspection we found:

  • The practice had clear systems to manage risk so that safety incidents were less likely to happen. When incidents did happen, the practice learned from them and improved their processes. However we found that one incident that had occurred had been investigated and followed up but no recorded as an incident

  • The practice routinely reviewed the effectiveness and appropriateness of the care it provided. It ensured that care and treatment was delivered according to evidence- based guidelines.

  • Staff involved and treated patients with compassion, kindness, dignity and respect.

  • Patients found the appointment system easy to use and reported that they were able to access care when they needed it.

  • There was a strong focus on continuous learning and improvement at all levels of the organisation.

We saw one area of outstanding practice:

  • The practice paid for taxi rides for their elderly patients from their own budget for them to attend appointments at the practice if no local transport was available.

The areas where the provider should make improvements are:

  • Record all incidents as appropriate to ensure consistency.

  • Undertake internal infection control audits.

  • Introduce a failsafe system for patients being referred under the cancer two week referral system.

  • Introduce a failsafe system for patients undergoing cervical smear checks.

  • Should continue their efforts to identify carers.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 January 2018

Effective

Good

Updated 25 January 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 25 January 2018

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 January 2018

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 January 2018

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 25 January 2018

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 25 January 2018

Older people

Good

Updated 25 January 2018

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 25 January 2018

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 25 January 2018

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 25 January 2018