You are here

The White House Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

We are carrying out a review of quality at The White House. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 11 January 2020

About the service

The White House is a care home that provides personal care for up to 22 older people. At the time of the inspection 11 people were living at the service. Some of these people were living with dementia. There was also five self-contained flats attached to the service that were currently not in use.

This service was registered for the current providers on 9 May 2018. The service was inspected on 4 and 5 December 2018, because of concerns we had received. At that inspection the service was rated as Inadequate overall and for the key questions of Safe, Responsive and Well Led. Breaches of regulation of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 and one breach of the CQC (Registration) Regulations 2009 were found.

Following the inspection in December 2018, the service was placed in 'Special Measures' by the Care Quality Commission (CQC).

The purpose of special measures is to:

• Ensure providers found to be providing inadequate care significantly improve

• Provide a framework within which we use our enforcement powers in response to inadequate care and work with, or signpost to, other organisations in the system to ensure improvements are made

• Provide a clear timeframe within which providers must improve the quality of care they provide, or we will seek to take further action, for example to cancel their registration.

We asked the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and by when to improve.

At the inspection on 22 and 23 May 2019 sufficient improvement had not been made. We found four breaches of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 and one breach of the CQC (Registration) Regulations 2009. Some of these were repeated breaches from the previous inspection, although we found the seriousness and risks associated with the breaches had been reduced.

The overall rating for this service was 'requires improvement' and the service remained in 'Special Measures'. This is because one key question has been rated as 'inadequate'. This meant we would keep the service under review and if we do not propose to cancel the provider's registration, we would re-inspect within six months to check for significant improvements.

The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve. At this inspection we found improvements had been made and the provider was no longer in breach of regulation. However, it had only been a short time since the last inspection and these improvements and changes needed to be embedded into the service. The services action plan confirms some issues remain ‘in progress’ and not yet completed. Therefore the service remains ‘requires improvement’.

This service had been in Special Measures since December 2018. During this inspection the provider demonstrated that improvements have been made. The service is no longer rated as inadequate overall or any of the key questions. Therefore, this service is no longer in Special Measures.

The service had been working with the local authority Quality Improvement team to embed positive changes. A new manager has been employed since the last inspection and has been working alongside the Quality Improvement team. The manager was supported by senior management. New management systems had been implemented to better monitor care provision.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

People told us they were happy living in the home and staff told us they particularly enjoyed working in the homely atmosphere. The manager and staff’s passion for caring for people was clear. Relatives and staff spoke highly of the new manager in post.

People and their relatives told us they were happy with the care they received and believed it was a safe environment. One person said; “Yes I feel safe here.” A relative said; “The staff are always about.” People looked happy and comfortable with staff supporting

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 11 January 2020

The service was not always safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 11 January 2020

The service was effective.

Details are in our effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 11 January 2020

The service was caring.

Details are in our caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 11 January 2020

The service was responsive.

Details are in our responsive findings below.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 11 January 2020

The service was not always well-led.

Details are in our well-Led findings below.