You are here

Gainsborough Care Home Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 27 November 2020

About the service

Gainsborough Care Home is a residential care home providing personal and nursing care to 34 people aged 65 and over at the time of the inspection. The service can support up to 48 people in one building, which is adapted for the needs of people with mobility difficulties.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

People were now protected from the risk of large furniture falling on them. Since the previous inspection risk assessments had been completed for each person. All large furniture in occupied and unoccupied rooms was now secured.

The provider had introduced improved oversight of the security of furniture in people’s rooms. This was now included in the home’s monthly health and safety audit. The maintenance person also carried out weekly checks to ensure this improved level of safety was sustained. The registered manager told us, “People here are definitely safer now.”

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection and update

The last rating for this service was requires improvement (published 15 October 2020) when we identified two breaches of regulation. The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve.

Following our last inspection, we served a warning notice on the provider. We required them to be compliant with Regulation 12 (Safe care and treatment) and Regulation 17 (Good governance) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 by 30 October 2020.

At this inspection we found improvements had been made and the provider was no longer in breach of regulations.

Why we inspected

We undertook this targeted inspection to check whether the Warning Notice we previously served in relation to Regulation 12 and Regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 had been met. The overall rating for the service has not changed following this targeted inspection and remains requires improvement.

CQC have introduced targeted inspections to follow up on Warning Notices or to check specific concerns. They do not look at an entire key question, only the part of the key question we are specifically concerned about. Targeted inspections do not change the rating from the previous inspection. This is because they do not assess all areas of a key question.

We looked at infection prevention and control measures under the Safe key question. We look at this in all care home inspections even if no concerns or risks have been identified. This is to provide assurance that the service can respond to coronavirus and other infection outbreaks effectively.

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 27 November 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question requires improvement. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Effective

Good

Updated 27 November 2020

Caring

Good

Updated 27 November 2020

Responsive

Good

Updated 27 November 2020

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 27 November 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question requires improvement. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.