You are here

New Addington Group Practice Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 February 2019

We carried out an announced focused inspection at New Addington Group Practice on 19 December 2018 to follow up on breaches of regulations.

At this inspection we followed up on breaches of regulations identified at a previous inspection on 8 November 2017.

We based our judgement of the quality of care at this service on a combination of:

  • what we found when we inspected
  • information from our ongoing monitoring of data about services and
  • information from the provider, patients, the public and other organisations.

We have rated this practice as good for providing well-led services.

We found that:

  • The practice had clear systems to manage risk so that safety incidents were less likely to happen. When incidents did happen, the practice learned from them and improved their processes.
  • The practice acted on and learned from medicines and safety alerts.
  • The practice had a system in place to check emergency medicines.
  • The practice had a system in place to follow up patients who had been referred for suspected cancer. The provider used an electronic referral system to refer patients and referral letters contained all the necessary information.
  • We found that patient consultations were appropriately coded; the provider undertook regular coding audits to ensure consultations were appropriately coded.
  • All staff received regular appraisals.
  • All staff received training appropriate to their role and up to date records of training were maintained.
  • Exceptions for patients with long-term conditions were appropriately reported.
  • The national GP patient survey results for 2018 indicated that patients were satisfied with waiting times for appointments.
  • 83% (85 patients) of 102 patients with learning disability had their health checks in 2017-18. The practice had looked at the reasons for patients with learning disability not attending appointments to improve uptake of health checks.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 5 January 2018

Effective

Good

Updated 5 January 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 5 January 2018

Responsive

Good

Updated 5 January 2018

Well-led

Good
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 5 January 2018

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 5 January 2018

Older people

Good

Updated 5 January 2018

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 5 January 2018

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 5 January 2018

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 5 January 2018