You are here

Archived: Kalcrest Care Ltd

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 10, 11, 16 April 2013
Date of Publication: 17 May 2013
Inspection Report published 17 May 2013 PDF

People should get safe and appropriate care that meets their needs and supports their rights (outcome 4)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Experience effective, safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs and protects their rights.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 10 April 2013, 11 April 2013 and 16 April 2013, talked with people who use the service and talked with staff. We were accompanied by a pharmacist.

Our judgement

People experienced care, treatment and support that met their needs.

Reasons for our judgement

Our inspection on the 8 November 2012 found we had concerns care and treatment was not planned and delivered in a way that was intended to ensure people's safety and welfare. This was because the assessments and work schedules did not contain enough information to enable staff to deliver a consistent and safe approach to people's care. The provider wrote to us and told us they would take action to ensure they were compliant with these essential standards. They told us these actions would be completed by the end of February 2013. We carried out this inspection to see what improvements had been made.

We looked at two people’s records, in their homes, and approximately five people’s records in the agencies offices. We saw improvements had been made and all the records contained a support plan which clearly described the person’s needs and the actions staff should take to support people and ensure their needs were met. We talked to one care co-ordinator and two team leaders in the office and two care staff in people’s homes and all told us the new support plans had been introduced for most people using the service. The two care staff who were supporting people at home told us they had found the plans informative and helpful.

We saw from four people's care records that these contained a range of information including a copy of the social services assessment of their needs, daily notes which detailed the care provided and details of the health needs of the person. Duplicates were made, one copy was retained within each person's home and a second was held securely at the registered care provider's office.

We saw there were systems in place for staff to update the care plans and raise any concerns about a person’s wellbeing. The registered manager and care co-ordinator told us they checked care documentation and that these were reviewed as needs changed or every six months.

With their permission we telephoned five people who used the service and visited two people in their homes so they could tell us their experiences of the agency. All told us the service was “very good” or they were “very happy”, one person said it was “excellent and they could not wish for better carers”.

They said the care staff supported them fully and would “help out in any way they could” and they were “very polite” .

Another person told us the staff were very caring, respectful and they could not fault them. All said they had been visited by the service for one to three years and had no complaints. Two people said they had “never had any” and another person explained if they raised any minor concerns they were always responded to.