You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 30 January 2019

This inspection site visit to place on 11 and 12 December 2018 and was unannounced.

Willow Lodge Care Home is a care home for 35 older people. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The home is purpose built over three floors. At the time of our visit there were 35 people living at the home, most of whom were living with dementia.

The home had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection, on 5 April 2016, we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good overall.

Why the service is rated Good.

We have made a recommendation about making the environment more dementia-friendly to promote people’s independence.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the systems in the service did not always reflect this practice. People were involved in day to day decisions about their care.

People were treated with kindness and compassion. Staff respected and upheld people’s privacy and dignity. People’s independence was promoted. Staff knew people well and understood their interests and hobbies. Visitors were welcomed.

There were sufficient staff available to meet people’s needs. Safe recruitment practices were used. Staff were supported with regular supervision and training. There was a positive and person-centred culture. Staff worked together as a team.

People needs were assessed before they moved into the home and as things changed. Care plans and risk assessments were person centred. Information was stored confidentially. People and their relatives understood how to raise a complaint and when these were made they were managed in a timely and effective way.

Risks to people due to the environment and their own needs were well managed. Plans were in place in the case of an emergency. Risks regarding the control of infection were well managed. Staff understood safeguarding and how to report any concerns. Action was taken to reduce the risk of incidents reoccurring. Quality assurance systems were used to reflect on practice and improve the service provided.

Prescribed medicines were managed safely. People had enough to eat and drink and were supported to eat, as required. People’s healthcare needs were met and staff worked in partnership with other agencies. Care at the end of people’s lives was planned for and people received personalised support at the end of their lives.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 30 January 2019

The service remains Good.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 30 January 2019

The service remains Requires Improvement.

Caring

Good

Updated 30 January 2019

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 30 January 2019

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 30 January 2019

The service remains Good.