You are here

ECL Regaining Independence Service Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 27 October 2018

A comprehensive inspection took place on 7 June 2018 and was announced. We gave the registered manager 24 hours' notice of the inspection because the location provides a domiciliary care service, we needed to make sure that staff would be in the office for us to speak with and to arrange visits for us to observe care being given in people’s homes.

ECL Regaining Independence Service is regulated to provide personal care to people in their own homes.

At the time of our inspection, approximately 94 people were using the service. People were referred to the service following hospital discharge or through social services. They follow a time limited, 're-enablement' programme of support which helped them to attain planned goals and regain their independence they had lost as the result of a specific event, such as an accident or through illness.

People receiving the service had a range of needs and told us they received personalised care that supported them to regain the independence.

The service was last inspected in March 2016. At our last inspection we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People and their relatives felt safe using the service and that staff were trustworthy. People received safe care and treatment. Risks to people’s health and safety were appropriately assessed and mitigated. Guidance was provided to staff on how to manage people's risks. People were supported to attain their goals and have maximum choice and control of their lives.

People received personalised care that supported them to regain the independence they had lost as the result of a specific event, such as an accident or through illness. People helped to set goals they aimed to achieve and were supported by staff in this. Complaints were managed and responded to appropriately.

Staff had been trained to recognise the signs of potential abuse and knew what action to take if they suspected abuse was taking place. Safe recruitment practices were in place so that suitable staff were engaged to work in the care profession. Staff were not always prompt in arriving at people's homes at the stipulated time, but it was recognised that some people needed additional support which varied from day to day and could delay the timings of visits. Accidents and incidents were reported and managed appropriately.

People's medicines were managed safely by trained staff. Many people using the service told us they managed their own medicines independently. For the people that had support to take their medicines, these were well managed by staff at the service. Staff supported people to have ready access to food and drink.

Depending on their needs, people using the service received care for up to nine weeks. Staff had a good understanding of people’s needs and how best to support them to achieve the desired outcomes. The provider’s remit was to support people to regain their levels of independence as much as was possible and they were encouraged in this process by staff when they visited people in their own homes. A relative explained how one staff member was on hand when their family member took a shower, but only helped when necessary. The relative said, “Staff are fantastic. They can’t do enough.”

People told us that staff treated them with dignity, respected their privacy and made them feel at ease. We saw staff treating and discussing people with dignity and respect and being considerate.

People were involved in their care and support and were encouraged to be active in giving feedback about how the service was run. People were asked for their views about the service through surveys sent by the provider. A large majority state

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 27 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 27 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 27 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 27 October 2018

The service remained Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 27 October 2018

The service remained Good.