You are here

Summerdale Court Care Home Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

We are carrying out a review of quality at Summerdale Court Care Home. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 24 October 2020

About the service

Summerdale Court Care Home is a care home providing personal and nursing care. It is registered to provide care and support for up to 110 people in one purpose-built building. However, the top floor units were closed for refurbishment and the service had a limited capacity to provide care to 58 people. Fifty four people were living at the service at the time of the inspection. There was one unit which specialised in supporting people living with dementia. There was one nursing unit which provided care to people with nursing care needs. Both of the units were on the ground floor.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

The service was not always well-led. The service had completed a range of audits however these had not always led to improvements with medicine management, care planning and managing the risk of falls. Contrary to the provider’s written statements, the service had not embedded good practice about assessing whether people’s health was deteriorating. The management team had improved the service in other areas.

The majority of people’s relatives told us the service was safe and there were enough staff to meet people’s needs. The service had assessed the risks people faced and developed plans to help reduce them. People had access to healthcare support.

Care plans were personalised and reflected people’s preferences, likes and dislikes. Relatives told us staff were caring and treated their loved ones with respect and dignity. Most relatives told us they knew how to make a complaint if they needed to and felt the service would respond appropriately. Staff and relatives told us the management team were approachable and there had been recent improvements at the service.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection and update

The last rating for this service was requires improvement (published 12 March 2020) and there were multiple breaches of regulations and the service remained in special measures. The service has been in special measures since July 2019. The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve. At this inspection some improvements had been noted but not enough improvements had been made around good governance and the provider was still in breach of one regulation.

Why we inspected

We undertook this targeted inspection to check whether the previous breaches in relation to Regulation 13, 17 and 18 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 had been met. Furthermore, we needed to check whether the previous recommendation in relation to Regulation 16 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 had been met. We also undertook the inspection to check that previous improvements in relation to Regulations 9, 10 and 12 had been sustained. The overall rating for the service has not changed following this targeted inspection and remains requires improvement. The service remains in special measures following this targeted inspection.

CQC have introduced targeted inspections to follow up on Warning Notices or to check specific concerns. They do not look at an entire key question, only the part of the key question we are specifically concerned about. Targeted inspections do not change the rating from the previous inspection. This is because they do not assess all areas of a key question.

Enforcement

We are mindful of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on our regulatory function. This meant we took account of the exceptional circumstances arising as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic when considering what enforcement action was necessary and proportionate to keep people safe as a result of this inspection. We will continue to discharge our regulatory enforcement functions required to keep people safe and to hold providers to account where it is necessary for us to do

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 24 October 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question requires improvement. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 24 October 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question requires improvement. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 24 October 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question requires improvement. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 24 October 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question requires improvement. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Well-led

Inadequate

Updated 24 October 2020

At our last inspection we rated this key question inadequate. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.