You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 26 June 2019

Bump2Baby is operated by Bump2Baby Scans Limited. The service provides a baby scanning service which includes early pregnancy scans and gender scans. We inspected diagnostic imaging.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We carried out the announced part of the inspection on 16 April 2019.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led? Where we have a legal duty to do so we rate services’ performance against each key question as outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate.

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 26 June 2019

We have not previously rated this service. At this inspection we rated it as Good because:

  • Staff understood how to protect patients from abuse and the service worked well with other agencies to do so. Staff had training on how to recognise and report abuse and they knew how to apply it.

  • The service controlled infection risk well. Staff kept themselves, equipment and the premises clean.

  • The service had suitable premises and equipment and looked after them well.

  • The service had enough staff with the right qualifications, skills, training and experience to keep people safe from avoidable harm and to provide the right care and treatment.

  • Staff kept detailed records of patients care and treatment. Records were clear, up-to-date and easily available to all staff providing care.

Effective

Insufficient evidence to rate

Updated 26 June 2019

We did not rate the effectiveness of this service however:

  • The service provided care and treatment based on national guidance.

  • Managers monitored the effectiveness of care and treatment and used the findings to improve them.

  • The service made sure staff were competent for their roles.

  • Staff worked together as a team to benefit patients.

  • The service provided a seven day service.

  • Staff understood how and when to assess whether a patient had the capacity to make decisions about their care.

Caring

Good

Updated 26 June 2019

We have not previously rated this service. At this inspection We rated it as Good because:

  • Staff cared for patients with compassion. Feedback from patients confirmed that staff treated them well and with kindness.

  • Staff provided emotional support to patients to minimise their distress.

  • Staff involved individuals and those close to them in decisions about their care and treatment.

Responsive

Good

Updated 26 June 2019

We have not previously rated this service. At this inspection we rated it as Good because:

  • The service planned and provided services in a way that met the needs of local people.

  • The service took account of patient’s individual needs.

  • People could access the service when they needed it.

  • Staff spoke a variety of languages spoken within the local area making the service accessible to a wider community.

  • The service treated concerns and complaints seriously, investigated them and learned lessons from the results.

Well-led

Good

Updated 26 June 2019

We have not previously rated this service. At this inspection we rated it as Good because:

  • Managers at all levels in the service had the right skills and abilities to run a service providing high-quality sustainable care.

  • Managers across the service promoted a positive culture that supported and valued staff, creating a sense of common purpose based on shared values.

  • The service collected, analysed, managed and used information well to support all its activities, using secure electronic systems with security safeguards.

  • The service engaged well with patients, staff and local organisations to plan and manage appropriate services and collaborated with partner organisations effectively.

  • The service was committed to improving services by learning from when things went well or wrong.

Checks on specific services

Diagnostic imaging

Good

Updated 26 June 2019

Diagnostics was the only activity the service provided. We rated this service as good because it was safe, caring, responsive and well-led. We do not rate the key question of effective.