You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

This inspection took place on 6 April 2018. It was an announced visit to the service.

We previously inspected the service on the 30 July 2015. The service was rated Good at the time. However the provider was failing to report events it was legally required to do so. We found a breach of the Regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008. We asked the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and by when to improve the key question, Well Led to at least good. At this inspection we found improvements had been made.

Living Horizon provides care and support to people living in three supported living settings, so that they can live as independently as possible. People’s care and housing are provided under separate contractual agreements. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) does not regulate premises used for supported living; this inspection looked at people’s personal care and support. At the time of the inspection three people were supported with personal care needs by staff. People supported either had a learning disability or mental health condition.

We received positive feedback from people who were supported by the service. This was supported by health and social care professionals we received feedback from. Comments from people included “This is the best support I could ask for…They [Staff] care for me and worry about me.” Another person told us “I get good support, whatever you need help with. I would recommend it.”

People were encouraged to be independent and staff supported them to manage risks posed to them. This was supported by what a social care professional told us “They [Staff] work flexibly with her, giving her independence and managing risks.”

People were treated with dignity and respect and staff were able to adapt their communication style to suit the situation.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

Systems were in place to ensure important information about people was shared with staff. Daily notes on what support people had received were updated in a timely manner. Staff shared learning with each other to achieve the best outcome for people.

The provider monitored the service and regularly involved staff in the development of the service. Staff felt valued and listened to. There was a clear culture in the service to provide a high quality service.

We found gaps in some of the required records. For instance there was not a full record of member of staff employment history. We also found gaps in records relating to the support given to staff. We have made a recommendation about records in the report.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remained Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remained Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remained Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remained Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remained Good.