You are here

Archived: De Vere Care Good

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 24 January 2019

This comprehensive inspection took place on 13 December 2018 and was announced. This service is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats. It provides a service to older adults.

Not everyone using De Vere Care receives regulated activity; the CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with ‘personal care’; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also take into account any wider social care provided.

At the time of our inspection, 62 people were using the service, who received personal care. The provider employed 70 care staff, who visited people living in the local community.

We last inspected this service on 7 December 2017 and we rated the service as Requires Improvement. This was because we found concerns in all five key questions that we ask; is the service safe? Is the service effective? Is the service caring? Is the service responsive? Is the service well led? There were four breaches of Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. These were in relation to providing safe care and treatment, providing staff with training and support and receiving consent to care from people. Following the last inspection, we asked the provider to complete an action plan to show how they would make improvements. We also sent the provider a Warning Notice for the breach of regulation 17, good governance because the provider was failing to maintain the quality of the service and there was a lack of robust management. We asked for them to be compliant with legal requirements by April 2018.

At this announced inspection, we checked that they had followed their plan and to confirm that they now met legal requirements. During this inspection, the service demonstrated to us that improvements have been made and we have now rated the service Good.

The service had a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered care homes, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Following our last inspection, the provider had made internal structural changes to help make the necessary improvements and carried out a review of processes. They had assessed and monitored the quality of the service to ensure people received safe care.

We saw that improvements had been made in ensuring people received care that was safe and that care was provided to people at the correct times. Care staff had enough time to travel in between care visits to people and the number of missed visits had reduced. Risks to people were assessed and monitored so that these risks were mitigated against.

The provider had sufficient numbers of staff available to provide care and support to people. Staff were recruited appropriately and the necessary pre-employment background checks were undertaken to ensure they were suitable for the role and were safe to provide care to people. Staff received support from the management team with regular supervision meetings to discuss any concerns or issues. They were sufficiently trained and we saw that their training was now up to date. This meant the care and support they provided to people was effective.

When required, staff administered people’s medicines and recorded medicines that they administered on people's Medicine Administration Records (MAR). They had received training on how to do this. Staff had received training in infection control and followed procedures when providing personal care.

The provider was now compliant with the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA). Assessments were carried out for people who did not have capacity to make decisions, using MCA principles.

Staff told us that they received support and en

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 24 January 2019

The service was safe.

Staff understood how to safeguard people from abuse.

Risks to people were identified and managed safely by staff.

A recruitment procedure was in place to employing staff that were safe. There were enough staff in the service.

Staffing levels were sufficient to ensure people received support to meet their needs.

Medicines were managed safely by staff.

Effective

Good

Updated 24 January 2019

The service was effective. Staff received appropriate inductions, training, and support.

Assessments of people�s needs were carried out to ensure effective outcomes for their care.

Staff supported people to access health professionals when needed. People�s nutritional requirements were met.

Staff understood the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005.

Caring

Good

Updated 24 January 2019

The service was caring.

People were treated with dignity and respect by staff who understood their needs.

People and their relatives had involvement in the decisions made about their care.

Staff were respectful of people�s privacy and personal information.

Responsive

Good

Updated 24 January 2019

The service was responsive.

Care plans were person centred and reflected each person�s needs, and preferences.

The provider ensured information was accessible to people in a way they could understand it.

People were able to make complaints about the service. The provider investigated all complaints appropriately.

Well-led

Good

Updated 24 January 2019

The service was well led.

Staff received support and guidance from the management team. People and their relatives were satisfied with the management of the service.

There was a quality assurance system in place to check the service was compliant with regulations.