You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Seaview Haven. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Inadequate

Updated 12 March 2021

About the service

Seaview Haven is a residential care home providing personal care for up to 44 people. At the time of the inspection there were 33 people living there. The home accommodates people across three different floors, each of which has separate adapted facilities. One of the floors specialises in providing care to people living with dementia.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

People were not always safe at the home as any risks to their health and wellbeing had not been assessed and planned for. People did not have care plans in place so they were at risk of not having their care and support needs met.

People were not protected from the risk of cross infection due to poor infection and control practices in the pandemic. People did not always receive their medicines in a safe way.

There were not always enough staff on duty and they did not have the necessary skills, training and supervision to support people effectively. Staff felt undervalued and demoralised with low morale.

Lessons were not always learned when things went wrong. There was poor oversight of the service and a lack of consistent managers in post. There was a lack of effective monitoring and systems in place to monitor the safety and quality of care were ineffective. Systems in place were not effective at sharing important information

People had access to healthcare professionals who told us they had good communication with the service.

Staff were recruited in a safe way. Relatives spoke positively about the care staff and how they supported their family members, particularly during the pandemic.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests; the policies and systems in the service were put in place.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection and update

The last rating for this service was good (published July 2019). The service had a targeted inspection (published October 2020) which was not rated. The service has deteriorated to inadequate. This is based on the findings at this inspection.

Why we inspected

We received concerns in relation to staffing levels, risks and safe care and treatment. As a result, we undertook a focused inspection to review the key questions of safe, effective and well-led only.

We reviewed the information we held about the service. No areas of concern were identified in the other key questions. We therefore did not inspect them. Ratings from previous comprehensive inspections for those key questions were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection.

We looked at infection prevention and control measures under the safe key question. We look at this in all care home inspections even if no concerns or risks have been identified. This is to provide assurance that the service can respond to coronavirus and other infection outbreaks effectively.

We have found evidence that the provider needs to make improvements. Please see the safe, effective and well-led sections of this full report.

You can see what action we have asked the provider to take at the end of this full report.

Following the inspection the provider supplied an action plan with timescales for completion. They have committed to improving the service and working with health and social care professionals to do this. They have already began to make improvements throughout the service and have kept CQC updated on the progress.

Enforcement

We have identified four breaches in relation to: the safe care and treatment of people; safeguarding people from abuse; inadequate staffing levels and staff training; management oversight of the service, and a lack of monitoring quality and safety at this inspection.

We are mindful of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on our regulatory function. This meant we took account of the exceptional circu

Inspection areas

Safe

Inadequate

Updated 12 March 2021

The service was not safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 12 March 2021

The service was not always effective.

Details are in our effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 12 March 2021

Responsive

Good

Updated 12 March 2021

Well-led

Inadequate

Updated 12 March 2021

The service was not well-led.

Details are in our well-led findings below.