You are here

Alliance Medical Fylde Coast Diagnostic Centre Good

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 30 January 2019

Alliance Medical Fylde Coast Diagnostic Centre is operated by Alliance Medical Limited. The service carries out approximately 100 diagnostic imaging appointments per week. The majority of appointments are for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans but the service also has facilities for ultrasound, x-ray and dental imaging.

The service provides diagnostic imaging. We inspected diagnostic imaging services.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We carried out the announced part of the inspection on 13 November 2018.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led? Where we have a legal duty to do so we rate services’ performance against each key question as outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate.

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Services we rate

Alliance Medical Fylde Coast Diagnostic Centre had not previously been inspected. We rated it as Good overall.

We found good practice in relation to diagnostic imaging:

  • The service managed staffing effectively and services always had enough staff with the appropriate skills, experience and training to keep patients safe and to meet their care needs.
  • The service provided care and treatment in line with current evidence-based practice and national guidelines.
  • Staff treated patients with compassion and respected privacy and dignity at all times.
  • The service provided care and treatment which met the needs of the local population and individuals. Patients could access services when they needed.
  • The service promoted a culture of openness and honesty. Staff were proud to work for the service and were focussed on providing excellent standards of patient-centre care.

Following this inspection, we told the provider that it should make improvements, even though a regulation had not been breached, to help the service improve. Details are at the end of the report.

Ellen Armistead

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals (North)

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 30 January 2019

We rated safe as Good because:

  • The service had appropriate systems and processes in place to ensure that the safety of patients and staff was maintained.
  • Staff received appropriate training to ensure they had the necessary skills to carry out care and treatment safely.
  • The service maintained equipment in accordance with Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency standards and kept a register of all equipment and devices in use.

Effective

Updated 30 January 2019

Caring

Good

Updated 30 January 2019

We rated caring as Good because:

  • Staff treated patients and relatives with compassion and respected their privacy and dignity at all times.
  • Emotional support was provided to patients when needed.
  • Service provision was planned to allow for additional time to explain procedures to patients and involve them in their care.

Responsive

Good

Updated 30 January 2019

We rated responsive as Good because:

  • The service provided care and treatment which was responsive to the needs of individuals and the local population.
  • The service consistently met their own target for time from referral to report of seven days.
  • The service allocated appointment slots of one hour so that a thorough history could be taken from the patient prior to the diagnostic procedure. This meant that the radiologists could make a more informed decision regarding diagnosis and interpretation of screening images.
  • The service consistently demonstrated consideration of the patient experience in planning of service provision. This was particularly evident for patients who were claustrophobic and attended for magnetic resonance imaging scans.

Well-led

Good

Updated 30 January 2019

We rated well-led as Good because:

  • There was leadership capacity within the service to provide high-quality, sustainable care.
  • The vision and values of the service were focussed around provision of patient-centred care and providing a high-quality patient experience.
  • There were effective governance processes in place to identify risks to patient safety, quality and performance.
Checks on specific services

Diagnostic imaging

Good

Updated 30 January 2019

The service provided ultrasound, x-ray and dental imaging procedures. However, the main source of activity came from magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans. The service prided itself on being able to cater for patients with claustrophobia (fear of confined spaces) due to the additional time allocated for appointments and use of an extremity magnetic resonance imaging scanner where appropriate.