You are here

Magdalen House Care Home Good Also known as Magdalen House Limited

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 December 2018

Magdalen House is a purpose built residential care home without nursing for 53 people, some of whom are living with dementia. The service is set over three floors, with a dementia unit on the second floor and suites on the top floor for people who need less support. At our last inspection we rated the service Good. At this comprehensive inspection, which we carried out on 17 and 20 August 2018 we found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. Because the rating remains Good, this inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Since our last inspection in 1 March 2017, there has been a change of registered manager, however, the people who lived in the service told us that they continued to feel safe and well cared for. There were systems in place which provided guidance for care staff on how to safeguard the people who used the service from the potential risk of abuse. Staff understood their roles and responsibilities in keeping people safe. Risk assessments were still in place to identify how the risks to people were minimised. There continued to be sufficient numbers of trained and well supported staff to keep people safe and to meet their needs. Where people required assistance to take their medicines there were arrangements in place to provide this support.

Both the registered manager and the staff understood their obligations under the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005 and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). The manager knew how to make a referral if required, meaning that people living in the home were still being supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

People’s needs were assessed and the service continued to support people to eat and drink enough to maintain a balanced diet. They were also supported to maintain good health and to have access to healthcare services.

We saw many examples of positive and caring interactions between the staff and people living in the service. People were able to express their views and staff listened to what they said and took action to ensure their decisions were acted on. Staff continued to protect people’s privacy and dignity.

People received care that was personalised and responsive to their needs. The service still listened to people’s experiences, concerns and complaints. Staff took steps to investigate complaints and to make any changes needed. People were supported at the end of their lives to have a comfortable, dignified and pain free death.

The registered manager told us that they had been well supported by the organisation while they settled into their position. The people using the service and the staff they managed told us that the registered manager was open, supportive and had good management skills. There were still good systems in place to monitor the quality of service the organisation offered people to ensure it continued to meet their needs.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 December 2018

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 22 December 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 22 December 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 December 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 December 2018

The service remains Good