You are here

Archived: Mums Helping Hands Ltd Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 13 April 2016

The inspection was announced and took place on 7 March 2016. Mums Helping Hands Ltd is a domiciliary care service which provides personal care and support to adults, in their own homes, in Nottinghamshire. On the day of our inspection two people were using the service.

The service had a registered manager in place at the time of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection on 5 December 2013 we asked the provider to take action to improve recruitment processes so that people were protected against the risk of staff being employed that were unsuitable to work with them. During this inspection we found that improvements to recruitment processes had been made but that further improvements were still required.

At our last inspection we asked the provider to take action to ensure that people had appropriate risk assessments and care plans in place so that care being delivered was appropriate and safe. During this inspection we found that some improvements had been made but risk assessments and care plans were not always in place or regularly updated to effectively reduce the risk of harm to people.

At our last inspection we also asked the provider to take action to ensure that staff were properly supported in their role. During this inspection, we found that improvements had been made to the training that staff received. However, although staff were receiving annual appraisals, regular supervision was not being undertaken and documented in line with the service's policy and procedures.

People were kept safe by staff who understood their responsibilities with regard to protecting people they were caring for from harm or abuse.

People were being cared for by sufficient numbers of staff. The registered manager had recently recruited a new member of staff to help ensure people’s care needs could be met. People received the required support with their medicines.

People were encouraged to make independent decisions. Staff understood the principles of legislation designed to protect the rights of people who lacked capacity. However, staff had not received training in this area and the documentation about people’s capacity was not adequate.

People received the support they required to meet their nutritional and healthcare needs.

People had positive relationships with their care workers and people’s relatives felt that their relation was treated with kindness and people’s privacy and dignity were respected.

People, who used the service, or their representatives, were encouraged to contribute to the planning of their care and to give their views on the running of the service.

The registered manager reviewed some information on a monthly basis to assess the quality of the service. However, systems were not robust to ensure that people’s documentation was regularly updated and that accidents and incidents were monitored effectively to provide the best outcomes for people.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 13 April 2016

The service was not consistently safe.

Risks to people�s health were not regularly reviewed.

Improvements were required in relation to ensuring staff were suitable to work with people.

People were supported by sufficient numbers of staff and received support with their medicines.

Effective systems were in place to recognise and respond to allegations of abuse and there were enough staff to meet people�s needs.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 13 April 2016

The service was not consistently effective.

People were supported to make independent decisions where they were able but capacity assessments had not always been carried out where required.

Staff felt improvements could be made to how they were supported in their role. Staff did not receive regular supervision to ensure they could carry out their roles effectively.

People were well supported with their healthcare and nutritional needs.

Caring

Good

Updated 13 April 2016

The service was caring.

People were treated with kindness by staff and their preferences were considered to ensure care was provided in the way they wanted it to be.

People�s privacy and dignity was respected and staff were aware of the importance of promoting people�s independence.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 13 April 2016

The service not consistently responsive.

Care plans were not always in place in response to people�s healthcare needs.

People�s care was planned in partnership with them and reflected people�s preferences. People were supported to maintain their independence.

People�s relatives and staff felt the registered manager would respond to any complaints.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 13 April 2016

The service was not consistently well led.

Systems to monitor the quality of the service were not robust.

People�s relatives felt that the registered manager was approachable. The registered manager sought the views of people and their relatives in relation to the running of the service.