You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

About the service

Amberside is a care home providing care and support for up to 21 older people. At the time of the inspection, the service was supporting nine people. Eight people were present on the day of the inspection and one person was in hospital. The service was newly registered in October 2017 and began admitting people in February 2018, following refurbishment works.

People's experience of using this service

We received positive feedback about the service and the care people received. People and professionals commented positively about the effectiveness and responsiveness of the support people received. There was evidence that people achieved good care outcomes and their comments about the service supported this.

Systems to ensure people were safeguarded from harm had improved. People were supported by staff who had been trained to identify and report concerns. People were safe because potential risks to their health and wellbeing had been mitigated and were being managed effectively. Staffing levels had been increased and there was enough staff to support people safely. People were supported to take their medicines. Lessons were learnt from incidents to prevent recurrence. Staff followed effective processes to prevent the spread of infections.

The registered manager and staff worked hard to ensure people received effective care to meet their needs. People were supported by staff who had completed the provider's mandatory training and additional training in relevant areas. Staff practice was supported by recognised good practice guidelines. People achieved good care outcomes as a result of the support provided by the service.

Staff had respectful, caring and friendly relationships with people they supported. Staff upheld people's dignity and privacy, and they promoted their independence.

People received personalised care and support which met their needs and reflected their

preferences.

There was a positive and open culture. Staff roles and responsibilities were clear, and staff were supported through regular supervision from the registered manager.

The provider’s quality monitoring processes had improved and now evidenced how they continually improve the service.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection and update

The last rating for this service was Inadequate (published 5 March 2019). The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve.

At this inspection we found enough improvement had been made and the provider was no longer in breach of regulations.

This service has been in Special Measures since 11 December 2018. During this inspection the provider demonstrated that improvements have been made. The service is no longer rated as inadequate overall or in any of the key questions. Therefore, this service is no longer in Special Measures.

Why we inspected

This inspection was carried out to follow up on action we told the provider to take at the last inspection.

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

The service was safe.

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

The service was effective

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

The service was caring.

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

The service was responsive.

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 6 November 2019

The service was well-led.

Details are in our Well- Led findings below.