You are here

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 August 2017

This inspection took place on 11 July 2017 and was announced. We gave the service 48 hours' notice to make sure there was someone at the office to assist with our inspection. Further days of inspection took place on 12 and 18 July 2017 and were announced.

My Choice Homecare is a domiciliary care service that provides personal care and support to older people and people living with dementia. The service covers the Consett area of County Durham. At the time of our inspection 46 people were receiving support with personal care from the service.

The service was last inspected in June 2016. At that time we identified two breaches of our regulations in relation to fire risk assessments and staff training, supervision and appraisal. We took action by requiring the provider to send us action plans setting out how they would address these issues. When we returned on our latest inspection we saw improvements had been made.

All of the people and relatives we spoke with said they felt safe using the service. Risks to people were assessed and plans put in place to reduce the chances of them occurring. Medicines were managed safely and people told us they received their medicines when they were needed. Policies and procedures were in place to safeguard people from abuse.

The provider monitored staffing levels to ensure sufficient staff were deployed to provide safe support. People told us they were supported by stable staffing teams whose timekeeping was good. The provider’s recruitment process reduced the risk of unsuitable staff being employed. Staff were supported through regular training, supervision and appraisal.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. Policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

Where people received support with food and nutrition as part of their care package they spoke positively about the help they received. People were supported to access external professionals to maintain and promote their health and wellbeing. The provider had a business contingency plan to ensure people received a continuity of care in situations that disrupted the service.

People and relatives spoke very positively about the support provided by staff, who they described as kind and caring. People and their relatives said staff went above and beyond what was expected when delivering support. People told us staff worked hard to help them maintain their independence and treated them with dignity and respect. The service had received a number of compliments from people and their relatives on the quality of care delivered by staff. The service had procedures in place to help people access advocacy services where needed.

People received personalised care based on their assessed needs and preferences. Care plans were regularly reviewed to ensure they reflected people’s current needs and preferences. Some people received support to access activities as party of their care package. Where this was the case people spoke positively about the support they received. Policies and procedures were in place to respond to complaints.

Staff spoke positively about the culture and values of the service and said the provider and manager were supportive of them in their role. The manager and provider carried out a number of quality control checks to monitor and improve standards at the service. The provider and manager sought people’s feedback on the service. The manager had informed CQC of significant events in a timely way by submitting the required notifications. This meant we could check that appropriate action had been taken.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 11 August 2017

The service was safe.

Risks to people were assessed and plans put in place to reduce the chances of them occurring.

Medicines were managed safely.

Policies and procedures were in place to safeguard people from abuse.

Staffing levels were monitored and staff safely recruited.

Effective

Good

Updated 11 August 2017

The service was effective.

Staff were supported through regular training, supervision and appraisal.

People�s rights under the Mental Capacity Act 2005 were protected.

People were supported to manage their food and nutrition.

People were supported to access external professionals to maintain and promote their health and wellbeing.

Caring

Good

Updated 11 August 2017

The service was caring.

People and relatives described staff as kind and caring.

People and their relatives said staff went above and beyond what was expected when delivering support.

People said staff treated them with dignity and respect.

People were supported to access advocacy services where needed.

Responsive

Good

Updated 11 August 2017

The service was responsive.

People received personalised care based on their assessed needs and preferences.

People were supported to access activities they enjoyed.

Policies and procedures were in place to respond to complaints.

Well-led

Good

Updated 11 August 2017

The service was well-led.

Staff spoke positively about the culture and values of the service.

The manager and provider carried out a number of quality control checks to monitor and improve standards at the service.

The provider and manager sought people�s feedback on the service.

The manager had submitted required notifications to the Commission.