You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 October 2019

Bumpkins York is operated by Bumpkins York. The service is a single speciality independent healthcare provider offering 2D, 3D and 4D imaging to self-funding women who use the services.

Bumpkins York is staffed by one person (ultrasound technician) who is also the registered manager and owner of the service.

Bumpkins York is situated in a small ground floor business unit in a rural area. The service provides wheelchair access and has designated car parking at the front of the building. Women who use the service entering the unit are escorted directly into a waiting area which opens into a scanning room, and small staff kitchen area. The central reception has adequate seating and a reception desk. Toilets were provided for women who use the service, along a small corridor near to the front entrance.

The service provided a screening and ultrasound scan service for people aged 18 plus in relation to pregnancy (from seven weeks through to full term), including gender scans, and early bonding experiences. In addition the provider offers heartbeat teddy bears and gender reveal balloons.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We carried out the announced part of the inspection on 26 June 2019.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led? Where we have a legal duty to do so we rate services’ performance against each key question as outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate.

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Services we rate

We had not previously inspected this service. We rated it as Good overall because:

  • The service provided mandatory training in key skills

  • The service controlled infection risk well.

  • The service had suitable premises and equipment and looked after them well.

  • The service provided care and treatment based on national guidance and evidence of its effectiveness. The service made sure staff were competent for their roles.

  • Staff cared for women who use the service with compassion. During the inspection we spoke to two women who were using the service. They said, “staff went above and beyond”. One said, “staff were very friendly”.

  • Staff involved people who use the service and those close to them in decisions about their scan.

  • People could access the service when they needed it.

  • The service treated concerns and complaints seriously, investigated them and learned lessons from the results.

  • The manager had the right skills and abilities to run a service providing high-quality sustainable service.

  • The service had a vision for what it wanted to achieve and workable plans to turn it into action.

    We found areas of outstanding practice:

  • We saw an example of the service going above and beyond to assist those people who use the service.

We found areas of practice that require improvement:

  • Some policies did not have a creation date or review date.

  • The ultrasound practitioner does not receive an appraisal or peer support due to being the only employee.

We found that the /service was meeting all standards of quality and safety it was inspected against.

Ann Ford

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals (North Region)

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 October 2019

We rated it as Good because:

  • The ultrasound technician understood how to protect women from abuse and had completed training on how to recognise and report abuse.

  • The design, maintenance and use of facilities, premises and equipment kept people safe. Clinical waste was managed well.

  • The ultrasound technician completed and updated risk assessment for each women and removed or minimised risks. The ultrasound technician identified and quickly acted upon women at risk of deterioration (if a person become unwell). The staff member had the right qualifications, skills, training and experience to keep women safe from avoidable harm and to provide the right care.

  • The service kept detailed records of women’. Records were clear, up-to-date, stored securely and easily available to all staff providing care.

Effective

Not sufficient evidence to rate

Updated 18 October 2019

We inspected but did not rate.

  • The service provided care and treatment based on national guidance and evidence-based practice. The ultrasound technician protected the rights of women in their care.

  • The service monitored the effectiveness of care and treatment. They used the findings to make improvements and achieved good outcomes for women.

  • The ultrasound technician gave women practical support and advice to lead healthier lives and supported women to make informed decisions about their scan. They followed national guidance to gain the womens’ consent.

Caring

Good

Updated 18 October 2019

We rated it as Good because:

  • The ultrasound technician treated women with compassion and kindness, respected their privacy and dignity, and took account of their individual needs.

  • The ultrasound technician provided emotional support to women, families and carers to minimise their distress. They understood the womens personal, cultural and religious needs.

  • The ultrasound technician supported and involved women, families and carers to understand and make decisions about their scan.

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 October 2019

We rated it as Good because:

  • The service planned and provided care in a way that met the needs of women.

  • The service was inclusive and took account of womens individual needs and preferences. Reasonable adjustments were made to help women access services.

  • People could access the service when they needed it and received the right care in a timely way.

  • It was easy for people to give feedback and raise concerns about care received. The service treated concerns and complaints seriously, investigated them and improved practice based on lessons learned. The service included women in the investigation of their complaint.

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 October 2019

We rated it as Good because:

  • The registered manager had the integrity, skills and abilities to run the service. They understood and managed the priorities and issues the service faced. They were visible and approachable in the service for women.
  • The vision and strategy were focused on sustainability of services.
  • The service focused on the needs of womens receiving care and had an open culture with women, and their families.
  • The manager identified and escalated relevant risks to medical professionals. They had plans to cope with unexpected events.
  • The ultrasound technician actively and openly engaged with women to plan and manage services.
  • The service was committed to continually learning and improving services.
Checks on specific services

Diagnostic imaging

Good

Updated 18 October 2019

The service provided souvenir baby scans at this location. We rated this core service as good overall.

There were systems to monitor safety, outcomes and experience for women who used the service.

Appropriate, nationally referenced guidelines were used in the delivery of the service.

Staff were consistently caring, friendly and professional and all individuals we spoke with were positive about the service they received.

The service was responsive to make reasonable adjustments for people who use the service.

Risk, governance and operational performance was managed. The manager was committed to developing a well-led, highly responsive service.

There was a culture of improvement and it was safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led.