You are here

Angel Home Care Service Private Limited Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The inspection took place on the 22 and 27 February 2018. Because this service provides a domiciliary care service we gave them 24 hours’ notice that we were conducting the inspection to ensure there was someone available at the office to assist with the inspection.

Angel Home Care Service Private Limited is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own homes in the community. The service provides care to a range of people with different needs including older people, people living with dementia, learning disabilities, physical disabilities, mental health and sensory impairment. When we inspected the service, there were 51 people receiving domiciliary care. Calls to people’s properties ranged from 30 to 60 minutes per visit. Not everyone receives the regulated activity of ‘personal care’; The Care Quality Commission (CQC) only inspects the ‘personal care’ ; element of care. That is tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. We also take into account any wider social care provided.

Our last inspection of this service was on the 1 and 6 September 2016 and we found concerns relating to regulations 9, 11, 17, 18 and 19 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. We found that the provider was not carrying out adequate assessments of the needs and preferences of people using services. The provider was not acting in accordance with the Mental Capacity Act 2005. There were insufficient systems in place to assess, monitor and improve the quality of the service. Staff were not receiving appropriate training to enable them to carry out their duties and the provider had allowed two care workers to work before they had received a valid disclosure and barring certificate. The overall rating for the service was Requires Improvement. At this inspection, we found significant improvements had been made to the service and found the service to be ‘Good’ in all of our key questions; safe, effective, caring, responsive and well led.

Following the last inspection, we asked the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and the timescale they needed to improve the key questions in safe, effective, responsive and well led. At this inspection, we found that the provider was completing comprehensive assessments of needs of people and documenting preferences in the care plan. The service was working in accordance with the Mental Capacity Act 2015 and assessing people’s capacity and making referrals to the local authority, when required. Audits and quality assurance systems were in place to assist in monitoring and improving the service. All new staff members had the required pre-employment checks in place before starting to work for the service. Staff members were receiving training appropriate to their job roles.

The service had a registered manager in post since February 2017. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People were protected from abuse. Staff followed the provider's and the local authorities safeguarding procedures to identify and report concerns about people's well-being and safety. Accidents and incidents were recorded, reviewed and analysed to determine patterns and take preventative measures.

Comprehensive assessments were carried out to identify any risks or potential risks to the person using the service. This included any environmental risks in people's homes, risks in the community and any risks in relation to the care and support needs of the person.

Staff were recruited safely and trained to meet people's individual needs. Wherever possible people were only supported by staff known to them.

There were enough staff assigned to provide support and ensure

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service is safe.

People told us they felt safe while being supported by staff members from Angel Home Care Services Limited.

Staff members were recruited safely and had all pre-employment checks in place prior to commencing employment.

People received robust risk assessments to support their care and support needs.

Effective

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service is effective.

The service was working within the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Staff members received training suitable to their role.

People received thorough pre-assessments prior to using the service.

Caring

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service is caring.

We observed caring and kind interactions between people and staff members.

People we spoke with said they received dignified and respectful care.

People were given choice as to how they preferred their care.

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service is responsive.

People and their relatives were involved in the pre-assessment of needs and care planning.

Care plans were person centred and fully described the support people required.

Complaints were answered in a timely manner with outcomes shared with the complainant, professionals and the staff team.

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service is well led.

People, relatives and staff members found the registered manager kind and approachable.

Appropriate audits were in place to monitor and improve the service.

Notifications from the service were being submitted to the CQC in a timely manner.