• Services in your home
  • Homecare service

Lilicares Limited Also known as Citibase Plc

Overall: Good

Crown House, Home Gardens, Dartford, Kent, DA1 1DZ 07958 527813

Provided and run by:
Lilicares Limited

Latest inspection summary

On this page

Background to this inspection

Updated 25 May 2019

The inspection:

We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (the Act) as part of our regulatory functions. This inspection was planned to check whether the provider was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Act, to look at the overall quality of the service, and to provide a rating for the service under the Care Act 2014.

Inspection team:

One inspector carried out this inspection to the office location on the 3 May 2019.

Service and service type:

Lilicares Limited, is a domiciliary care agency providing personal care to people in their own homes. The service is currently supporting two people, one of whom receives personal care.

The service had a manager registered with the Care Quality Commission. The registered manager was also the registered provider. This means that they are legally responsible for how the service is run and for the quality and safety of the care provided.

Notice of inspection:

This comprehensive inspection took place on 3 May 2019 and was announced. We gave the service 48 hours’ notice of the inspection visit because the service is small and the registered manager is often out of the office and provides care. We needed to be sure that they would be in.

What we did:

We reviewed information we had received about the service since the last inspection, on 12 September 2018.

The registered manager completed a Provider Information Return, for the inspection in September 2018, so we did not request one before this inspection. This is information we require providers to send us at least once annually to give some key information about the service, what the service does well and improvements they plan to make.

During the inspection, we looked at one person’s support plans and risk assessments. We viewed a range of policies and procedures. We spoke with the registered manager. We spoke to one person who uses the service by telephone on the 8 May 2019.

Overall inspection

Good

Updated 25 May 2019

About the service:

Lilicares Limited is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to adults who want to remain independent in their own home in the community. The people who use this service are older adults.

Not everyone using Lilicares Limited receives regulated activity; CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with ‘personal care’; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also take into account any wider social care. At the time of the inspection, the service was supporting two people, one of whom received some element of personal care.

This was the second inspection of this service since the service was registered with CQC on the 14 September 2017. The service was inspected on 12 September 2018, but not rated at that time due to insufficient evidence. The registered manager has continued to successfully provide the regulated activity of ‘personal care’ to one person and supports a second person that does not receive personal care.

There was a registered manager at the service who was also the provider. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People’s experience of using this service:

The person we spoke with, confirmed that the service they receive had continued to be good. They said the registered manager was kind and caring, and they confirmed that all her current needs were being met.

Needs were assessed before the person started using the service to ensure that they were able to provide them with the care they required. This included information on religious and cultural needs. The service had policies in place to ensure that people’s rights were protected, and people were protected from discrimination.

Care plans were up to date and accurately reflected the person’s needs. The registered manager knew the person well and care plans were updated on an ongoing basis. The registered manager understood their responsibilities under the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and was aware of the person’s decisions and respected their choices.

Risks to the person had been assessed and there was a plan in place to minimise these risks. Care was provided by the registered manager who was able to meet the person’s needs and cover the care calls provided by the service.

The registered manager had the skills and knowledge they needed to support people. There were recruitment systems in place, however, currently there were no staff at the service other than the registered manager.

The person was protected from abuse and the risk of harm. There were safeguarding policies in place and the registered manager knew how to identify and report concerns.

There was an up to date infection control policy in place and personal protective equipment were available where needed.

The person was treated with respect and kindness. Privacy was respected, and they were supported in a dignified way. The person was supported to maintain and increase their independence where appropriate.

There was an up to date complaints policy in place which was shared with the person who used the service.

The registered manager understood their role and responsibilities. There were policies and procedures to ensure that peoples medicines were managed safely, however the service was not supporting anyone with their medicine.

The provider had a system in place to ensure that the service could be audited to identify where improvements were needed and actions were taken. For example, auditing of care plans. This included a system for completing spot checks on future staff to monitor performance and competency assessments for medicine administration and manual handling.

The registered manager attended network events to share learning and best practice.

Rating at last inspection: This service was not rated at the inspection on the 12 September 2018, due to insufficient evidence being available.

Why we inspected: This was a planned comprehensive inspection to follow up from the last inspection and provide a rating for the service.

Follow up: We will continue to monitor the service through the information we receive.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk