You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 26 September 2018

This inspection took place on 6 September 2018 and was announced. We gave 48 hours’ notice of the inspection to ensure people who used the service and staff were available to talk with us.

Tremenheere registered as a new service on 15 June 2017. Consequently, this was their first inspection.

Tremenheere domiciliary care service provides services to people in their own homes in the Penzance and surrounding areas. It supports Older People, People living with Physical Disability and Sensory Impairment. The service mainly provides personal care for people in short visits at key times of the day to help people safely maintain their independence to live in their homes. The services were funded either privately or through Cornwall Council or NHS funding. The service employed approximately fifteen staff as well as having three office based managers.

At the time of the inspection approximately forty people were using the service. There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the service is run.

During this inspection, people and relatives told us they felt safe whilst using the service. One person said, “I trust the girls totally. I feel very safe when they visit me.” A relative said, “The staff are excellent. They are very competent.” Staff understood the importance of people’s safety and security. One staff member said, “It’s important we make sure clients feel safe. It’s their home we are going into and they need to be confident with us [staff].” Staff files confirmed staff had safeguarding training to protect people from poor care or abuse. Staff told us they knew how to respond to any concerns about abuse. One said, “Our training is up to date and its always spoken about at team meetings.”

The service used assistive technology to record peoples care needs. The care planning system provided staff with direction and guidance about how to meet people’s individual needs and wishes. Care plans were regularly reviewed and any changes in people’s needs were communicated to staff. Assessments were carried out to identify any risks to the person using the service and to the staff supporting them. This included any environmental risks in people’s homes and any risks in relation to the care and support needs of the person. People told us they were involved in decisions about their care and were aware of their care plans.

The registered manager used effective systems to record and report on, accidents and incidents and take action when required. In order to learn from events, the registered manager reviewed all incidents to make changes and where necessary to manage risks more effectively. Since registration in 2017 there had been a few minor incidents but none where changes had been required to mitigate those risks.

Staff records contained the necessary documentation of their recruitment to ensure they were suitable to work with vulnerable adults. We found staffing levels were sufficient and the service consistently deployed staff to meet people’s needs. A relative commented, “I like the fact we get a rota every week so we know who’s coming. If there is a change we are usually told so we know who to expect.”

Staff received ongoing training relevant to their role and supported by the registered manager. They had the skills, knowledge and experience required to support people in their care. A staff member told us, “There is always training to be done, whether it is online, in or out of office, and always support if we need it from senior management at any time required. If we wish to further our education, this is wholly encouraged by Beth, and she helps us sort out the right companies or levels we need to continue our learning jo

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 26 September 2018

The service was safe. Records contained required documentation related to staff recruitment. We found adequate staffing levels.

The management team provided training and reviewed staff skills to ensure they administered medicines safely.

Safeguarding systems were in place and staff had a clear understanding of reporting procedures.

Effective

Good

Updated 26 September 2018

The service was effective. Staff were trained and had the skills and knowledge to provide the support people required.

People received the support they needed to prepare their meals and drinks.

People made choices about their care and agreed to the support they received. The registered manager knew about their responsibilities under the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and how to protect people�s rights.

Caring

Good

Updated 26 September 2018

The service was caring. Staff were kind and friendly and treated people, their families and homes with respect.

People were supported to maintain their independence.

Staff understood how involving people and their relatives in support planning was essential to the maintenance of high standards of care.

Responsive

Good

Updated 26 September 2018

The service was responsive. People told us the service responded to their needs, including when those needs changed.

Care planning was personalised to people�s individual needs and focused on helping them to retain their independence.

People said they had information about how to make a complaint if they chose to and relevant procedures to follow.

Well-led

Good

Updated 26 September 2018

The service was well-led. People knew the registered manager and how they could contact the management team.

The service asked people for their views and reviewed the information in order to identify any changes to improve the service.

People and relatives were complementary about the organisation of the service and felt there was strong leadership.