You are here

United Response - Cumbria DCA Good

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 20 October 2018

This inspection was carried from 21 to 30 August 2018. We gave the provider short notice of our inspection due to the nature of the service. This was to make sure someone would be in the office to assist us with our inspection.

United Response - Cumbria DCA provides domiciliary care to people living in their own homes and to support to people living in ‘supported living’ settings. This meant people could live as independently as possible with support. All of the people were living with a learning, physical or sensory disability or mental health needs. There were 62 people using the service at the time of this inspection.

People’s care and housing are provided under separate contractual agreements. CQC does not regulate premises used for supported living; this inspection looked at people’s personal care and support.

The service had a manager who had been registered with CQC since February 2018. A registered manager is a person who has registered with CQC to manage the service. Like providers, they are ‘registered persons.’ Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection in November 2015 we rated the service Good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

People said they felt safe with the staff and they had a say in who supported them. Staff had been trained in safeguarding vulnerable adults and knew how to report any concerns.

The provider checked new staff before they started work to make sure they were suitable. Staff had relevant training and received regular supervisions and appraisals.

Risk assessments were in place to support people’s independence. Any accidents and incidents were appropriately recorded and checked by the provider. People were assisted with their medicines in a safe way.

People’s needs were assessed before they started using the service to make sure the service could provide their support. If necessary, people were assisted with shopping and preparing meals to make sure they had good nutritional health.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People were supported to be included in their local community and lived ordinary, fulfilled lives as local citizens.

Staff were matched to the people they visited. There were friendly relationships between people and staff. People were empowered to make their own choices and decisions.

Staff were respectful of people’s individuality. United Response provided information for people in the way that met their communication styles.

The service had detailed records about each person. These included information about how they communicated, how they made decisions, what their preference were and what they could do themselves. Staff used this guidance to provide personalised support.

People and relatives knew how to make a complaint and were confident about contacting the management team at any time.

There was a strong management team with clear lines of responsibility. The provider had clear quality assurance systems to check the service. The provider also had a five-year vision and plan about how to continuously develop the service.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 20 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 20 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 20 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 20 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 20 October 2018

The service remains Good.