• Services in your home
  • Homecare service

Sunderland Home Care Associates (20-20) Limited

Overall: Good

Unit 3, North Hylton Office Park, Sunderland, SR5 3AD (0191) 510 8366

Provided and run by:
Sunderland Home Care Associates (20-20) Limited

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Latest inspection summary

On this page

Background to this inspection

Updated 30 August 2018

We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. This inspection was planned to check whether the provider is meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Health and Social Care Act 2008, to look at the overall quality of the service, and to provide a rating for the service under the Care Act 2014.

This comprehensive inspection took place between 11 and 16 July 2018 and was announced. We gave the service 48 hours’ notice of the inspection visit because it is a community based service and we needed to be sure the office would be staffed.

Inspection site visit activity started on 11 June and ended on 16 July 2018. It included a visit to the office on 11 and 16 July 2018 to see the registered manager and office staff; and to review care records and policies and procedures. We made telephone calls to staff, people and relatives on 12 July 2018.

The inspection was carried out by one adult social care inspector and an expert by experience. An expert by experience is a person who has personal experience of using or caring for someone who uses this type of service.

During the inspection we spoke with seven people and three relatives. We also spoke with six members of staff, including the registered manager, the recruitment and training manager, the compliance officer, a care co-ordinator and two supervisors who also provided care and support to people. We looked at seven people’s care records and seven people’s medicine records. We reviewed four staff files, including records of the recruitment process. We reviewed supervision, appraisal and training records as well as records relating to the management of the service.

Before the inspection took place we reviewed the information we held about the service. This included notifications we had received from the provider. Notifications are changes, events or incidents the provider is legally required to let us know about.

Due to technical problems, the provider was not able to complete a Provider Information Return. This is information we require providers to send us at least once annually to give some key information about the service, what the service does well and improvements they plan to make. We took this into account when we inspected the service and made the judgements in this report.

As part of our inspection planning we contacted the local authority commissioners of the service, the local authority safeguarding team and the local Healthwatch to gain their views of the service provided. Healthwatch is an independent consumer champion that gathers and represents the views of the public about health and social care services in England.

Overall inspection

Good

Updated 30 August 2018

The inspection took place on 11, 12 and 16 July 2018. This is the first time we have inspected the service since it was registered in July 2017.

Sunderland Home Care Associates (20-22) is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own homes in the community. It provides a service to older adults, some of whom are living with dementia. At the time of the inspection there were 167 people receiving a service.

The service had a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People and their relatives told us they felt safe receiving support from staff. Staff had completed training in safeguarding people and the service actively raised any safeguarding alerts with the local authority in a timely way.

Risks to people’s safety and wellbeing were assessed and managed. Environmental risk assessments were in place in relation to people’s own homes.

People’s medicines were administered in accordance with best practice and managed in a safe way. There were some ongoing issues with medicines administration records and work to improve these was ongoing.

People and relatives felt there were enough staff to meet people’s needs. The service used an electronic system to organise rotas and ensure enough staff were deployed to calls. Staff were recruited in a safe way with all necessary pre-employment checks carried out prior to starting work for the service.

New staff received a structured induction programme which included face-to-face training as well as shadowing shifts and assessments. All staff received regular training, supervisions and annual appraisals to support them in their roles.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible, the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People were supported with their nutritional needs where required and to access a range of health professionals. Information of healthcare intervention was included in care records.

People and relatives felt the service was caring and staff were friendly. Staff treated people with dignity and respect when supporting them in their homes. People were supported to be as independent as possible.

People had access to advocacy services if they wished to receive support. Some people also had Lasting Power of Attorneys or relatives they appointed as advocates.

Care plans were in place for meeting each person's individual needs. They were personalised, detailed and included people’s preferences. Regular reviews were carried out with people about their care and support.

People and their relatives knew how to raise any concerns they had about the service. The provider had a complaints procedure in place and kept a log of any complaints received. All complaints received were investigated, acted upon and outcomes were fed back to complainants.

There were audit systems in place to monitor the quality and safety of the service. The views of people were sought by the service via questionnaires. All results were analysed and improvements were made, where identified. Any trends and lessons learnt were also recorded and acted upon.

The service worked in partnership with a number of agencies, including the local authority, safeguarding teams and multidisciplinary teams, to ensure people received joined up care and support.