You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 1 December 2017

The inspection visit took place on 25 October 2017 and was unannounced.

Fernbank Lodge is registered to accommodate up to 18 people with personal care needs. Accommodation is provided over two floors, with a stair lift providing access to the first floor. There are a range of communal rooms, comprising of two lounges, two conservatories and a dining room. There are small garden areas at the front and rear of the home, with seating for people to use during the summer months.

At the last inspection in October 2015 the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained good.

People who lived at the home told us they had agreed the level of support they required to help them achieve their goals. Staff were able to explain the support individuals required and the way in which they supported people who lived at the home.

Risk assessments were carried out to ensure risks were identified and minimised. Staff were knowledgeable of these and people who used the service told us they felt safe. Care plans detailed the actions required by staff to minimise identified risk.

People at Fernbank Lodge told us they were happy with the number of staff available to support them. We were told, “I only have to ring that bell and it’s like they can fly, they come to me that quick.” And, “There’s enough staff here and they’re well organised, that’s the key.”

Medicines were managed safely. Staff responsible for supporting people with their medicines had received training to ensure they had the competency and skills required.

Recruitment checks were carried out to ensure suitable people were employed to work at the service. People spoke highly of the staff employed to support them. They told us they had no concerns with the staffing at the home and they considered staff to be helpful and caring

We found people had access to healthcare professionals and their healthcare needs were met. People told us they were supported to access further healthcare advice if this was appropriate and they were happy with the care and support provided. One person who lived at the home told us, “This is a good home, with good care and good staff.”

People who lived at Fernbank Lodge told us they liked the meals provided at the home. We found people were provided with meals and drinks that met their individual preferences and needs. Comments we received included, “The food is second to none here.” And, “I’ve just had homemade salmon fishcakes because I wanted them. They were delicious.”

The registered manager and a quality auditor employed by the registered provider carried out checks to identify where improvements were required. Staff told us they were informed of the outcomes of these. The registered manager explained the checks were not always documented.

We have made a recommendation regarding quality assurance.

We found people who received support were empowered to raise their views on the service at Fernbank Lodge. Meetings and surveys took place to enable people to give feedback to the management team.

There was a complaints procedure which was known to people who used the service. People told us they had no complaints, but they were confident the registered manager would respond to any complaints made. People told us they liked the registered manager. One person commented, “Registered manager is like a daughter to me.”

People who lived at Fernbank Lodge told us they enjoyed the activities provision at the home. We were told, “We do exercises in chairs, now that’s a good shout.” And, “I go to the things I like to go to.”

The registered manager demonstrated their understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005. Staff were able to give examples of how they supported people to make decisions. We found where people’s rights were restricted, this was done lawfully.

Staff told us they were proud to work at Fernbank Lodge and they enjoyed supporting people to live happy lives. Staff received appropriate training and develop

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 1 December 2017

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 1 December 2017

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 1 December 2017

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 1 December 2017

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 1 December 2017

The service was well-led.

Notifications to the Care Quality Commission were made as required.

Staff told us they were supported by the registered manager who sought the views of people who lived at the home.

Quality checks were carried out to identify shortfalls in the service provided.