You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 10 October 2016

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 12 September 2016 to ask the practice the following key questions; Are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

Brixworth Village Dental Practice (also known as Brixworth Dental Practice) is a dental surgery in the Northamptonshire village of Brixworth.

The practice provides general dental treatment to adults and children funded privately. They also offer dental implants (a dental implant is a metal post that is placed surgically into the jaw bone, it can be used to support a single tooth more implants can support multiple teeth) and orthodontic treatment (where malpositioned teeth are repositioned to give a better appearance and improved function).

The dental awards 2016 awarded the principal dentist with the title ‘Dentist of the year’, and other members of the team were finalists in their field in 2015 and 2016.

The practice is open from 8.30 am to 6 pm Monday and Tuesday, 8.30 am to 5 pm on Wednesday. 10.30 am to 7 pm on a Thursday, 8.30 am to 4 pm on a Friday and Saturday morning by appointment only.

The practice had three dental treatment rooms, a reception and waiting area, a patient toilet and a treatment co-ordinators room. There was a staff room and dedicated decontamination room for staff.

The principal dentist is the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run.

We received feedback from patients who attend the practice by way of comment cards which were left on the premises for the two weeks preceding the inspection. 50 patients gave feedback in this way and their comments were overwhelmingly positive.

Our key findings were:

  • The practice was visibly clean.

  • Patients commented that they received excellent care, staff were friendly and professional and appointments were flexible.

  • Infection control standards were in line with national guidance.

  • The practice kept medicines and equipment for use in a medical emergency these were in line with published guidance.

  • There was appropriate equipment for staff to carry out the services on offer.

  • Clinicians kept comprehensive patient care records which were accurate, detailed and contemporaneous.

  • Governance arrangements were in place for the smooth running of the service.

  • Staff had approached a local school, nursery and children’s group and given oral health talks to the children to engage them in their oral health.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

  • Review staff awareness of Gillick competency and ensure all staff are aware of their responsibilities.

  • Review the labelling of medicines that are dispensed giving due regard to schedule 26 of the Human Medicines Regulations 2012.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 10 October 2016

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Appropriate pre- employment checks were undertaken to ensure that the practice employed fit and proper persons, consideration had been given to repeating disclosure and barring service checks.

Use of X-rays on the premises was in line with the Regulations.

Infection control procedures were in line with the requirements of the ‘Health Technical Memorandum 01-05 (HTM 01-05): Decontamination in primary care dental practices’ published by the Department of Health. Infection control procedures were audited to ensure they remained effective.

Effective

No action required

Updated 10 October 2016

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Clinicians carried out a detailed and comprehensive screening of oral health including gum health, risk of decay and risk of cancer.

Staff demonstrated a commitment to oral health promotion.

Staff had a good understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and its role in a practice setting, although they seemed less sure on the application of Gillick competency and its role is establishing whether a child under the age of 16 could consent for themselves.

Caring

No action required

Updated 10 October 2016

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Patients commented that staff were always friendly and considerate and were able to put nervous patients at ease.

Staff routinely called patients that had undergone an extraction, or had a fixed brace fitted to ensure that they were managing their pain effectively.

Patients felt involved in decisions about their treatment and treatment leaflets were given to patients to assist them in making choices.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 10 October 2016

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice offered flexibility to patients who have commitments during normal working hours by offering evening and weekend appointments.

The practice made every effort to see emergency patients on the day they contacted the practice.

The practice was wheelchair accessible on the ground floor.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 10 October 2016

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had a series of policies to assist in the smooth running of the practice.

Clinical audit was used as a tool to highlight areas where improvements could be made.

Feedback was obtained from patients by electronic surveys sent out after treatment. In addition new patient surveys and staff surveys were also arranged.