You are here

Archived: Carewatch (Derby) Good

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 29 September 2018

We inspected this service on 23 August 2018. This inspection was announced. This meant the provider and staff knew we would be visiting the service’s office before we arrived.

At our previous inspection on the 6 and 13 June 2017 the provider was not meeting one of the regulations that we checked and was in breach of Regulation 11 of the Health and Social Care Act (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.This was in relation to consistently ensuring people’s capacity to consent to their care was undertaken when needed. We identified that when relatives had confirmed they could legally make decisions on behalf of their relation, this had not been checked by the provider to ensure people’s rights were upheld. At our previous inspection other improvements were also needed. This was because some people did not have risk assessments in place where needed and their care plans did not always reflect their current support needs. The provider had not identified these areas for improvement within their quality monitoring checks. At this inspection we found that improvements had been made. We saw that people were protected under the Mental Capacity Act and their care plans and risk assessments reflected their support needs.

Carewatch (Derby) is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats. Not everyone using Carewatch (Derby) receives regulated activity; CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with ‘personal care’; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do, we also take into account any wider social care provided.

Carewatch (Derby) provides personal care to people in their own homes. At the time of our inspection a total of 108 people were using the service, of these 99 people were in receipt of personal care support.

The service had a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager was not available on the day of our inspection visit due to planned annual leave.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Where people needed support to make specific decisions, their capacity had been assessed. Information was provided to staff to enable people to be supported in their best interests when needed. Risks to people were managed to reduce potential hazards and people’s care plans reflected their current needs and preferences.

People received their calls as agreed from a consistent staff team. People were supported by staff who understood what constituted abuse or poor practice and their role in reporting concerns. Checks on staff were done before they started work to ensure they were suitable to support people. Medicines were managed safely and people were supported to take their medicine when needed.

People were supported by trained staff who were provided with supervision by the management team to monitor their conduct and support their professional development. When needed, people were supported to maintain their dietary requirements and preferences and to access healthcare services.

People liked the staff and confirmed that the staff treated them with respect and ensured their privacy and dignity was upheld. The provider sought the opinions of people and their representatives to bring about improvements. People knew how to complain and we saw when complaints were made these were addressed. There were systems in place to monitor the quality of the service to enable the registered manager and provider to drive improvement. The provider u

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 29 September 2018

The service was safe.

People were supported by staff that understood how to identify any concerns and their responsibility to report these. Risks to people’s health and welfare were assessed and actions to minimise risks were in place. The provider checked staff’s suitability to work with people before they commenced employment. People were supported to take their medicines and there were sufficient staff to support them. People were protected against the risk of infection. Audits enabled lessons to be learnt and improvements made when needed.

Effective

Good

Updated 29 September 2018

The service was effective

People were able to make decisions about their care. Where people lacked capacity to make specific decisions, assessments had been undertaken and it was clear who had legal consent to make decisions on another person’s behalf. Staff received training to deliver care to people and equipment was in place to support people as needed. People were supported to have enough to eat and drink where this was part of their support package and their health care needs were monitored.

Caring

Good

Updated 29 September 2018

The service was caring.

People were supported by staff in a caring and considerate way and were encouraged to maintain their independence. People were treated with respect and they were supported to maintain their dignity.

Responsive

Good

Updated 29 September 2018

The service was responsive.

People and their representatives were involved in the development and review of their care plans, to ensure they were tailored to meet their individual needs and preferences. The provider’s complaints policy and procedure was accessible to people and they were supported to raise any concerns.

Well-led

Good

Updated 29 September 2018

The service was well led

Quality assurance systems were in place to identify where improvements were needed. The registered manager and management team were available for staff and supported them to provide effective care. People were invited to share their opinion about the quality of the service.