You are here

Proper Care (Cornwall) Limited Good

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

We carried out this announced inspection between the 19 and 24 September 2018. At the last inspection, in February 2016, the service was rated Good overall but requires improvement in relation to our question ‘Is the service effective’ because staff were not receiving training updates. At this inspection we found improvements in access to training had been made and the service was now Good in all areas.

Proper Care (Cornwall) Limited provides personal care to people living in their own homes in the community. Services are provided to predominantly older people living in an around Helston in South West Cornwall. At the time of our inspection the service was providing support to approximately 70 people. The service generally provides short visits at key times of the day to support people with specific tasks to enable people to continue to live in their own homes. These services were funded either privately, through Cornwall Council or NHS funding.

People and their relative told us the service provided safe care. Their comments included, “I feel happy and safe with them [staff]” and “Yes I do [feel safe], they [staff] are very good.” Staff had received training in safeguarding adults and knew how to respond if they had any concern in relation to people’s safety. Staff were confident the registered manager would take any action necessary to ensure people’s safety.

Risk assessments had been completed and where risks had been identified staff were provided with guidance on how to manage and minimise these risks while providing support. Any accidents or incidents that occurred had been appropriately recorded and investigated by the registered manager to reduce the likelihood of similar events reoccurring. The service had purchased a lifting aid and staff had received training on how to assist people who were uninjured up from the floor following a fall. This meant people were protected from the risks associated with spending time on the floor while awaiting assistance from emergency services.

People told us they received a reliable service and no one reported having experienced missed care visits. Staff told us, “There are no missed visits. There is always someone to every visit.” We received mixed feedback from staff, in relation to the amount of time allocated to travel between care visits and identified that some staff visit schedules did not include appropriately amounts of travel time. We discussed these issues with the registered manager who accepted and recognised that travel time had not been consistently included in staff rotas. We have made a recommendation in relation to the services visit scheduling systems and the manager explained that changes were planed to address these issues.

People told us their care visits were normally provided on time and for the full duration and one person’s relative said, “One thing is we have been allocated a reasonable amount of time so we don’t feel under any pressure. The people are very caring and pleasant and they do try to understand my husband. They take the time and trouble to understand what he feels unsafe about.” Staff told us the issues with travel time did not impact on the support they provided and daily records showed staff normally arrived on time. We have made a recommendation in relation to the service’s current visit scheduling system.

Staff were sufficiently skilled to meet people’s needs. Following our previous inspection a new system had been introduced to ensure all training was regularly reviewed and updated. Staff told us, “They are very strict that all our training is up to date.” While health professionals said, “Staff appear to be well trained and are happy and actively striving to improve their education”. There were appropriate staff induction processes in place and all staff new to care received formal induction training in line with the requirements of the care certificate.

The service had robust recruitment practices, which meant staff were

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service was effective. Staff were sufficiently skilled and well trained. There were appropriate procedures in place for the induction of new staff members.

The service worked well with health professionals and guidance they provided had been incorporated in people’s care records.

Managers and staff understood the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act.

Caring

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service remains good.