You are here

Hatzola Trust Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 15 May 2020

Hatzola is a charity operated by The Hatzola Trust. The service provides an emergency and urgent care ambulance service.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We carried out the announced part of the inspection on 11th February 2020, along with another visit to the provider on the 12th March 2020.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led?

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

The main service provided by this service was emergency and urgent care.

The service had been inspected previously but not rated. We rated it as Requires improvement overall.

  • Access to medicines were not always restricted to qualified members of staff.
  • Policies were not always written by appropriate people working within the service or signed off at an appropriate level.
  • The provider did not always use evidence based best practice to inform policies, improve treatments and keep staff updated.
  • The provider did not have processes in place to identify addresses where police assistance may be required or locations from which the service received frequent calls from.
  • Staff were not always appraised by managers who had full knowledge of the staff members performance.
  • Not all staff were trained in risk identification and management.
  • The provider had an over-reliance on external management consultants, therefore, had limited continuity built into the workforce.
  • The provider did not always complete full pre-employment checks including gaining references, qualifications and employment history.

However, we found the following areas of good practice:

  • The provider ensured everybody had completed mandatory training.
  • Ambulance vehicles were supplied with antibacterial hand gel and cleaning equipment, and personal protective equipment (PPE) was available.
  • The provider had enough staff with the right qualifications, skills, training and experience to keep patients safe from avoidable harm and to provide the right care and treatment.

Summary of findings

  • The provider gained feedback from patients and relatives who praised staff for their compassion and support.
  • The provider had strong links to the community served.

Following this inspection, we told the provider that it should make improvements, even though a regulation had not been breached, to help the service improve. 

Nigel Acheson

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals, on behalf of the Chief Inspector of Hospitals

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 15 May 2020

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 15 May 2020

Caring

Not sufficient evidence to rate

Updated 15 May 2020

Responsive

Good

Updated 15 May 2020

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 15 May 2020

Checks on specific services

Emergency and urgent care

Requires improvement

Updated 15 May 2020

Emergency and urgent care were the only regulated activity.

Between March 2019 and February 2020, 8270 calls were received by Hatzola Trust and 4288 of these calls received an ambulance response.