You are here

Winstone House - Horizon Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 15 January 2020

Our rating of this service improved. We rated it as good because:

  • The service provided safe care. The premises where clients were seen were safe and clean. Staff assessed and managed risk well and followed good practice with respect to safeguarding. Safeguarding processes had now improved. Staff were now making safeguarding referrals to the local authority and notifying the CQC.
  • The service was well led, and the governance processes ensured that its procedures ran smoothly.
Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 15 January 2020

We rated safe as good because:

  • All premises where clients received care were safe, clean, well equipped, well furnished, well maintained and fit for purpose.

  • The service had enough staff, who knew the clients and received basic training to keep them safe from avoidable harm.

  • Staff assessed and managed risks to clients and themselves well. They responded promptly to sudden deterioration in clients’ physical and mental health. Staff made clients aware of harm minimisation and the risks of continued substance misuse.

  • Risk management plans had improved and were consistent with risks identified in other documents.

  • Staff understood how to protect clients from abuse and the service worked well with other agencies to do so. Staff had training on how to recognise and report abuse, and they knew how to apply it.

  • Staff kept detailed records of clients’ care and treatment. Records were clear, up-to-date and easily available to all staff providing care.

  • The service used systems and processes to safely prescribe, administer, record and store medicines. Staff regularly reviewed the effects of medications on each client’s physical health.

  • The service had a good track record on safety. The service managed client safety incidents well. Staff recognised incidents and reported them appropriately. Managers investigated incidents and shared lessons learned with the whole team and the wider service. When things went wrong, staff apologised and gave clients honest information and suitable support.

Effective

Good

Updated 15 January 2020

We rated effective as good because:

  • At the last inspection in January 2019, we told the provider that they should continue with improvements to the quality and consistency recovery plans. Recovery plans now included all risks and needs as identified in risk assessments and assessments.
  • At the last inspection in January 2019, we also told the provider that they should ensure that all staff appraisals are completed in a timely manner. Appraisals had now been completed for all staff and were up to date.
  • We did not find any breaches in regulation in relation to the effective domain. Since that inspection, we have received no information that would cause us to re-inspect this key question.

Caring

Good

Updated 15 January 2020

We rated caring as good because:

  • At the last inspection in January 2019, we did not find any breaches in regulation in relation to the caring domain. Since that inspection, we have received no information that would cause us to re-inspect this key question.

Responsive

Good

Updated 15 January 2020

We rated responsive as good because:

  • At the last inspection in January 2019, we did not find any breaches in regulation in relation to the responsive domain. Since that inspection, we have received no information that would cause us to re-inspect this key question.

Well-led

Good

Updated 15 January 2020

We rated well-led as good because:

  • Leaders had the skills, knowledge and experience to perform their roles, had a good understanding of the services they managed, and were visible in the service and approachable for clients and staff.

  • Staff knew and understood the provider’s vision and values and how they were applied in the work of their team.

  • Staff felt respected, supported and valued. They reported that the provider promoted equality and diversity in its day-to-day work and in providing opportunities for career progression. They felt able to raise concerns without fear of retribution.

  • Our findings from the other key questions demonstrated that governance processes operated effectively and that performance and risk were managed well.

  • Teams had access to the information they needed to provide safe and effective care and used that information to good effect.

  • Staff collected and analysed data about outcomes and performance.

Checks on specific services

Substance misuse services

Updated 30 January 2018

See overall summary

Community-based substance misuse services

Good

Updated 15 January 2020

See overall summary