You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

We previously carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Old Road West Surgery on 15 August 2017. Overall the practice was rated as inadequate and was placed into special measures.

We issued warning notices in respect of identified issues and found arrangements had significantly improved when we undertook a follow up inspection of the service on 5 February 2018.

We conducted an announced comprehensive inspection on 29 November 2018. The practice was rated as requires improvement overall. It was removed from special measures and rated as Requires improvement for providing safe, caring and responsive services and Good for providing effective and well-led services. Breaches of regulation were identified. The details of these can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Old Road West Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 8 January 2020 as part of our inspection programme and to check the practice had met the regulatory requirements.

We based our judgement of the quality of care at this service on a combination of:

  • what we found when we inspected
  • information from our ongoing monitoring of data about services and
  • information from the provider, patients, the public and other organisations.

We have rated this practice as Good overall.

We rated the practice as Good for providing safe, effective, responsive and well-led services because:

  • Significant improvements had been made to ensure care plans were accessible at all times and included all relevant and up-to date information for patients with mental health issues.
  • The practice provided care in a way that kept patients safe and protected them from avoidable harm.
  • There were comprehensive systems to keep people safe, which took account of current best practice.
  • Patients received effective care and treatment that met their needs.
  • Staff dealt with patients with kindness and respect. They involved them in decisions about their care.
  • Improvements had been made to ensure complaints were acknowledged appropriately in the absence of the practice manager.
  • The practice organised and delivered services to meet patients’ needs.
  • The way the practice was led and managed promoted the delivery of high-quality, person-centre care.
  • Systems and processes to ensure good governance were effective.

We also rated the practice as Requires improvement for providing caring services because:

  • Although no breaches of regulation were identified, patient responses to national GP survey results remained lower than expected for GPs listening to them, being treated with care and concern and their overall experience of their GP practice.

The areas where the provider should make improvements:

  • Continue with their plan to ensure vulnerable adult safeguarding level three training is completed as planned.
  • Monitor and assess the effectiveness of the newly implemented policy and template in relation to scanned documents being reviewed.
  • Continue to improve the identification of carers, to ensure they receive appropriate care and support.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Dr Rosie Bennyworth BS BMedSci MRCGP
Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Effective

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 27 February 2020

Responsive

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Well-led

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Older people

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 27 February 2020

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 27 February 2020