You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Imperial Lodge. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 28 March 2018

Imperial Lodge is a 'care home'. People in care homes receive accommodation and personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Imperial Lodge accommodates 10 people in one building. Services are for people with mental health needs and/or people who have experienced substance misuse. The service aims to help people with recovery and some people have been supported to move to places where they need less care and support. At the time of our inspection nine people were living at the service.

Imperial Lodge is run by a small private organisation. The provider owns and manages one other care home. One of the owners is also the registered manager for Imperial Lodge. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At the last inspection on 16 January 2016 we rated the service Good.

At this comprehensive inspection on the 20 February 2018 we found the service remained Good in all key questions and overall. The inspection was unannounced.

People were happy living at the service. They felt well supported and that their needs were being met. People had been involved with planning their own care and had consented to care and treatment. There was evidence that the provider was meeting people's needs and supporting them with their recovery. The staff worked with other professionals to make sure people's physical and mental healthcare needs were being met.

People lived in a safe environment which was appropriately maintained. There were procedures designed to safeguard them from the risk of abuse. People received their medicines in a safe way and as prescribed. The risks to their wellbeing had been assessed and planned for. People knew how to make a complaint and felt that concerns were responded to their satisfaction.

The staff were kind, caring and supportive. The provider ensured that only suitable staff were employed. There were sufficient numbers of staff and they had the training, support and information they needed to care for people. The staff were happy working at the service and felt well supported.

The owners of the company were involved in the day to day running of the home and one was the registered manager. They worked closely with the staff and other stakeholders to monitor how the service was being delivered. There were effective systems for identifying and mitigating risks, as well as making continuous improvements. People using the service, staff and others were asked for their feedback on the service and their views were listened to and valued.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 28 March 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 28 March 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 28 March 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 28 March 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 28 March 2018

The service remains Good.