You are here

Diagnostic Healthcare Ltd (Varsity Medical Centre) Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

Diagnostic Healthcare Ltd (Varsity Medical Centre) is operated by Diagnostic Healthcare Limited.

Diagnostic Healthcare Ltd was established in 2004 to provide medical diagnostic imaging services of MRI, CT, Ultrasound, DEXA and X-ray to both NHS and private patients.

Diagnostic Healthcare Ltd (Varsity Medical Centre) delivers obstetric ultrasound scans to people on behalf of Birmingham Women’s Hospital. Diagnostic Healthcare Ltd (Varsity Medical Centre) also provides obstetric ultrasound scans to privately paying patients. Diagnostic Healthcare Ltd (Varsity Medical Centre) also provides sonographers to Birmingham Women’s Hospital and a radiographer to another independent healthcare provider providing dental scans.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We carried out an unannounced inspection on 5 December 2018 and an announced inspection on 10 December 2018.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led? Where we have a legal duty to do so we rate services’ performance against each key question as outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate.

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

We rated this service as good overall. We rated it good for safe, caring, responsive and well-led. We do not currently rate the effective domain.

Our key findings are as follows:

  • The service had enough staff with the right qualifications, skills, training and experience to keep people safe from avoidable harm and to provide the right care and treatment.

  • Staff understood how to protect patients from abuse and the service worked well with other agencies to do so.

  • The service provided care and treatment based on national guidance and evidenced its effectiveness.

  • The effectiveness of care and treatment were monitored and the findings were used to improve the service.

  • Staff cared for patients with compassion. They respected patients’ privacy and dignity, and supported their individual needs. Staff provided emotional support to patients to minimise their distress. Staff involved patients and those close to them in decisions about their care and treatment.

  • The service planned and provided services in a way that met the needs of local people. The service took account of patients’ individual needs.

  • The service treated concerns and complaints seriously, investigated them and learned lessons from the results, and shared these with staff.

  • Managers had the right skills and abilities to run a service providing high-quality sustainable care. The provider promoted a positive culture that supported and valued staff, creating a sense of common purpose based on shared values.

  • The service had access to the local acute NHS hospital’s computer systems. This allowed referrals to be made electronically from the host hospital and scan results be available immediately for referrer review.

  • The service engaged well with patients and staff to plan and manage appropriate services.

Following this inspection, we told the provider that it should make other improvements, even though a regulation had not been breached, to help the service improve. Details are at the end of the report.

Amanda Stanford

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals (Central Region)

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

We rated safe as Good because:

  • The service provided mandatory training in key skills to all staff and made sure everyone completed it.

  • Staff understood how to protect patients from abuse and the service worked well with other agencies to do so.

  • The service controlled infection risk well.

  • The service had suitable premises and equipment and looked after them well.

  • The service had enough staff with the right qualifications, skills, training and experience to keep people safe from avoidable harm and to provide the right care and treatment.

  • Staff kept detailed records of patients’ care and treatment.

  • The service managed patient safety incidents well.

Effective

Not sufficient evidence to rate

Updated 18 February 2019

Not sufficient evidence to rate.

We found the following areas of good practice:

  • The service provided care and treatment based on national guidance and evidenced its effectiveness.

  • The hydration needs of patients and those accompanying them were met.

  • Patients’ pain and comfort were discussed.
  • The effectiveness of care and treatment were monitored and the findings were used to improve the service.

  • The service made sure staff were competent for their roles.

  • Staff from different disciplines worked together as a team to benefit patients.

  • Staff understood the relevant consent and decision-making requirements of legislation and guidance, including the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Caring

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

We rated caring as Good because:

  • Staff cared for patients with compassion. They respected patients’ privacy and dignity, and supported their individual needs.

  • Staff provided emotional support to patients to minimise their distress.

  • Staff involved patients and those close to them in decisions about their care and treatment.

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

We rated responsive as Good because:

  • The service planned and provided services in a way that met the needs of local people.

  • The service took account of patients’ individual needs.

  • People could access the service when they needed it.

  • The service treated concerns and complaints seriously, investigated them and learned lessons from the results, and shared these with staff.

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 February 2019

We rated well-led as Good because:

  • Managers had the right skills and abilities to run a service providing high-quality sustainable care.

  • The service had a vision for what it wanted to achieve.

  • The provider promoted a positive culture that supported and valued staff, creating a sense of common purpose based on shared values.

  • The service had a comprehensive governance framework that ensured clear lines of responsibilities and that quality and performance were understood and managed.

  • The service had systems to identify risks, plan to eliminate or reduce them, and cope with both the expected and unexpected. However, not all risks identified were captured on the services risk register.

  • The service had access to the local acute NHS hospital’s computer systems. This allowed referrals to be made electronically from the host hospital and scan results be available immediately for referrer review.

  • The service engaged well with patients and staff to plan and manage appropriate services.

  • The service was committed to improving services by learning from when things went well or wrong and promoting training.

Checks on specific services

Diagnostic imaging

Good

Updated 18 February 2019