You are here

My Pillar Limited Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 16 January 2019

This inspection took place on 13 November 2018 and was an announced inspection. The provider was given 48 hours’ notice to ensure someone would be available at the registered office. This was the providers first inspection following their registration March 2017.

My Pillar is a domiciliary care service which is registered to provide personal care services to people living in their own homes, including adults and older adults living with physical, learning and or mental health conditions such as dementia. At the time of our inspection they were providing personal care and support to 10 people.

The service had a registered manager who was present during our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People were supported by enough members of staff who had knowledge and skills they required to care for people safely and effectively.

We found people were protected from the risk of abuse and avoidable harm because staff received training and understood the different types of abuse and knew what actions were needed to keep people safe.

People were encouraged to be as independent as possible, where possible and were supported to have food that they enjoyed. People told us staff always sought their consent before delivering care. People told us staff were kind, caring and respectful and they took the time to get to know people and their families.

We found people received an assessment of their needs before staff commenced their visits. However, the information contained in the care plans were not detailed and some section were inappropriate. Care plans also lacked information regarding people needs however staff were very knowledgeable about the people they cared for.

The service had a robust recruitment process to help ensure people employed were suitable to work with vulnerable people.

People knew how to complain if they were unhappy and they were confident that their concerns would be responded to efficiently and effectively.

The provider had some management systems in place to assess and monitor the quality of the service provided to people. However, information gathered was not always used effectively to drive improvements within the service.

Staff reported to feel supported and valued within their work and felt that the provider maintained open, honest and transparent communication systems within the service.

There was a complaints policy in place, however at the time of our inspection, no complaints had been raised. This was confirmed by the people we spoke to with.

A range of policies and procedures were in place to ensure appropriate guidance could be sought when needed.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 16 January 2019

The service was safe.

Staff understood their responsibility to keep people safe and there were procedures in place to protect people from risk of avoidable harm.

Care staff understood the risks relating to people's care and supported people safely.

There were enough experienced staff to provide the support people required.

People received their medicines as prescribed and there was a robust staff recruitment process.

Effective

Good

Updated 16 January 2019

The service was effective.

People’s rights were protected by staff that understood their responsibilities to care for people lawfully.

Most people were supported to have food and drink they enjoyed.

Caring

Good

Updated 16 January 2019

The service was caring.

We received positive comments about the care being provided. People said they were treated with kindness, dignity and respect.

People were supported by staff that took the time to get to know them well and who understood the things that were important to them and their families.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 16 January 2019

The service was not always responsive.

People’s care plans were not consistently person-centred and lacked information regarding peoples likes and dislikes.

Care plans we looked at had a lack of history about the people who used the service. However, staff were very knowledgeable about the people they supported. They were aware people’s histories their health and support needs.

A complaints policy and procedure was in place.

People felt able to raise concerns with staff if they needed to.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 16 January 2019

The service was not always well led.

The care plans we looked at contained inappropriate language and questions.

People and relatives told us that had a good relationship with the registered manager and staff.

The staff we spoke with told us they enjoyed working at the service and were supported in their role by the registered manager.