You are here

Integrated Care 24 - Head Office Good Also known as South East Health Limited - Head Office

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Integrated Care 24 Limited – Head Office on 12, 13 & 14 July 2016. The overall rating for the service was good. However we rated the service as requires improvement for providing safe services as we determined that the service must review the arrangements for the management and recording of controlled drugs to make them more effective.

The full comprehensive report on the 12,13 & 14 July 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Integrated Care 24 Limited – Head Office on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 7 June 2017 to confirm that the service had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 12, 13 & 14 July 2016. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements.

Overall the service remains rated as good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • We found that the provider had introduced new standard operating procedures for medicines including controlled drugs (medicines that require extra checks and special storage because of their potential misuse).

  • There had been a comprehensive training programme across the provider so that clinicians, drivers and receptionists understood their responsibilities in relation to handling controlled drugs.

  • A programme of reporting and audit had been introduced which entailed regular checks of controlled drugs as well as stock checking of medicines.

  • A new process had been introduced to help ensure that prescription forms, both computerised and handwritten could be traced through the service to the patient.

At our previous inspection on 12, 13 & 14 July 2016, we identified a breach of the regulations in respect of the arrangements for the management and recording of controlled drugs.

At this inspection we found that the provider had taken action to remedy the issue, consequently the service is rated as good for providing safe services.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

At our previous inspection on 12,13 & 14 July 2016, we rated the service as requires improvement for providing safe services as we determined that the service must review the arrangements for the management and recording of controlled drugs to make them more

effective.

At this inspection we found that the provider had taken action to remedy the issue consequently, the service is rated as good for providing safe services.

  • We found that the provider had introduced new standard operating procedures for medicines including controlled drugs
  • There had been a comprehensive training programme across the provider so that clinicians, drivers and receptionists understood their responsibilities in relation to handling controlled drugs.
  • A programme of reporting and audit had been introduced which entailed regular checks of controlled drugs as well as stock checking of medicines.
  • A new process had been introduced to help ensure that prescription forms, both computerised and handwritten could be traced through the service to the patient.
  • The type and qualities of medicines held by the service had been reduced to make errors less likely.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

Caring

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 August 2017