You are here

Archived: Annix Care Good

This service is now registered at a different address - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 28 January 2015

We undertook an announced inspection of Annix Care Domiciliary Care Agency (DCA) on 2 January 2015. We told the provider two days before our visit that we would be inspecting them. We did this because Annix Care is a small DCA and the registered manager is sometimes out of the office. Annix Care provides personal care services to people in their own homes. At the time of our inspection nine people were receiving a personal care service. People had their care purchased by the NHS Continuing Health Care. NHS Continuing Health Care is the name given to a package of care which is arranged and funded by the NHS for individuals outside of hospital who have ongoing healthcare needs. Annix Care provides palliative care and support to people with terminal illnesses. Palliative care and support is an approach that aims to improve the quality of life of people facing the problem associated with life-threatening illness.

At our last inspection carried out on 24 January 2014 the provider was meeting the requirements of the regulations inspected.

All of the people and their relatives that we spoke with told us that they felt safe when staff from Annix Care visited them in their home. Staff that we spoke with told us that they thought people were safe using the services provided by the DCA. There were arrangements in place to protect people from the risk of harm because risks had been assessed and actions put in to place to reduce the risk of harm to people.

Where people had their prescribed medicines administered to them by DCA staff, their medicines were made available to them and appropriate records were kept.

The Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) states what must be done to ensure the rights of people who may lack mental capacity to make decisions are protected. The MCA Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) requires providers to submit applications to the Court of Protection for authority to deprive someone of their liberty. Staff were aware of and had received training in the Mental Capacity Act (2005) and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS).

The staff we spoke with knew the people that they visited and provided care and support to and their needs. Care plans were in place and described the tasks staff needed to undertake in line with the contracted services from Continuing Health Care. All of the people and their relatives spoken with told us that they liked the staff and felt their needs were met.

The provider had a safe system in place to recruit new staff and carried out necessary pre-employment checks. Staff received an induction and ongoing training and supervision so that they had the knowledge and skills to meet people’s needs. All of the staff we spoke with understood their job role and responsibilities.

At the time of this inspection a registered manager was in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run. All of the staff spoken with told us that they felt the registered manager was accessible by telephone and approachable.

We found that effective systems were in place to monitor and improve the quality of service people received.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 28 January 2015

The service was safe.

There were suitable recruitment processes in place which reduced the risk of abuse of people that used the service.

Staff were aware of safeguarding procedures and knew how to raise a concern if they needed to.

Effective

Good

Updated 28 January 2015

The service was effective.

Staff had the skills and knowledge to meet people’s needs. Staff received training and were aware of the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Staff prepared and supported people to eat and drink according to their plan of care.

Caring

Good

Updated 28 January 2015

The service was caring.

People who used the service told us that staff were kind and caring to them.

People and their relatives were involved in making decisions about their care.

Responsive

Good

Updated 28 January 2015

The service was responsive.

Care plans were in place and reflected the contracted services from Continuing Health Care. Staff were knowledgeable about people’s support needs and their preferences in order that a personalised service was provided.

People and their relatives who used the service told us they felt staff and the registered manager listened to them and sought feedback about the service provided.

Well-led

Good

Updated 28 January 2015

The service was well led.

Staff were supported and supervised to provide a good service to people.

Robust systems were in place to monitor the quality of the service delivered.