You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

We inspected the home on 7 November 2018. The inspection was unannounced. Glebe House is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The service accommodates up to 24 people.

On the day of our inspection 24 people were living in the home.

At our last inspection on 20 May 2016 we rated the home as ‘good.’ At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of ‘good’. There was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People continued to receive a safe service where they were protected from avoidable harm, discrimination and abuse. Risks in relation to people’s daily life were assessed and planned for. There were enough staff to ensure people received care and support when they needed it and safe staff recruitment procedures were in place and used. Medicines were managed safely and people received their medicines as prescribed. People lived in a clean and hygienic environment and were given appropriate support to manage their lifestyles and behaviours in the least restrictive way.

People continued to receive an effective service. Staff had the knowledge and skills to provide safe and appropriate care and support for people which included meeting their nutritional needs. Staff worked well with external health care professionals and people were supported to access health services when required. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the home supported this practice. The principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) were followed.

People had developed positive relationships with the staff who supported them. Staff understood people’s needs, preferences, and what was important to them. Staff knew how to comfort people when they were distressed and made sure that emotional support was provided. They promoted people’s privacy, dignity and independence.

People continued to receive a responsive service. People were involved with assessing and planning for their care needs and regularly reviewing their progress. They were supported to pursue their interests and hobbies, and social activities were offered. There was a complaints procedure in place and people knew how to use the procedures when required.

The home continued to be well led. The culture within the home was open, transparent and person-centred. People were encouraged to give their views on how the home was run and there were systems in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service provided.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The service remains effective.

Well-led

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The service remains well-led.