You are here

The partners registered to provide this service have changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

This unannounced comprehensive inspection took place on 22 April 2018 and was carried out by one adult social care inspector. We previously inspected this home on 27 January 2016 and rated the home Good in every domain except Safe which was rated Requires Improvement. Following this we undertook a focused inspection on 8 March 2017 looking at the Safe domain. We found they had made improvements and rated this Good.

St George’s House is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. St George’s House is registered to accommodate up to 19 older people in one adapted building. Nursing care is not provided at the home. This is provided by the community nursing service. At the time of this inspection there were 15 people living in St George’s House.

The home had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.’

At our last inspection in 2017 we rated the Safe domain Good, at our previous inspection in 2016 we rated Effective, Caring, Responsive and Well led Good. At this inspection on 22 April 2018 we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good in those domains and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

The people who lived in St George’s House were provided with high quality, caring support which was person centred and met their individual needs. We received and saw very positive feedback about the staff at the home and the quality of care being provided. Some of these comments included, “The care at St George’s is excellent”, “You couldn’t get a better home”, and “The staff are excellent.”

People who lived in St George’s House had a variety of needs and were protected from risks relating to their health, mobility, medicines, nutrition and possible abuse. Staff had assessed individual risks to people and had taken action to seek guidance and minimise identified risks. Staff knew how to recognise possible signs of abuse.

Where accidents and incidents had taken place, these had been reviewed and action had been taken to reduce the risks of reoccurrence. Staff supported people to take their medicines safely and staffs’ knowledge relating to the administration of medicines were regularly checked. Staff told us they felt comfortable raising concerns.

Recruitment procedures were in place to help ensure only people of good character were employed by the home. Staff underwent Disclosure and Barring Service (police record) checks before they started work. Staffing numbers at the home were sufficient to meet people’s needs. Staff had the competencies and information they required in order to meet people’s needs. Staff received sufficient training as well as regular supervision and appraisal.

Staff treated people with respect and kindness. There was a warm and pleasant atmosphere at the home where people and staff shared jokes and laughter. Staff knew people and their preferences well. People’s care plans contained detailed and personalised information about each person’s specific care needs, personalities, histories and interests.

Staff had a good understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and put this into practice. Where people had been unable to make a particular decision at a particular time, their capacity had been assessed and b

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service remains Good