You are here

Before the Stork Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 23 July 2019

The service has had a registered manager in post since opening in 2006. At the time of the inspection, this manager was in post.

The service offers early pregnancy reassurance scans (from seven to 16 weeks pregnancy), sexing/gender scans (from 15 to 23 weeks pregnancy), 3D and 4D scans undertaken in HDLive (from 24 to 32 weeks pregnancy) and growth and presentation scans (from 24 to 34 weeks pregnancy).

The inspection took place on the 26 February 2019.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 23 July 2019

We had not previously rated this service. We rated it as

Requires improvement

because:

  • The service needed to update its safeguarding policy, to bring it in line with current guidance.
  • The service needed to be assured that sonographers had undertaken the appropriate level of safeguarding training at their local hospital and could evidence this.

However:

  • The service provided mandatory training in key skills to all staff and made sure everyone completed it.

  • Staff understood how to protect clients from abuse and they knew how to recognise and report abuse.

  • The service controlled infection risk well. Staff kept themselves, equipment and the premises clean. They used control measures to prevent the spread of infection.

  • The service had suitable premises and equipment and looked after them well.

  • Staff ensured detailed consent forms were completed for each client and a copy of this would be kept for up to three months after the date of the scan

    .

  • The service had systems in place to manage incidents.

Effective

Not sufficient evidence to rate

Updated 23 July 2019

We do not currently rate the effective domain for diagnostic imaging

services, however, we found:

  • The manager monitored the effectiveness of care and used the findings to improve them.

  • The service made sure staff were competent for their roles.

  • The service operated seven days a week.

  • Staff understood the importance of health promotion.

  • Staff understood the importance of obtaining informed consent, and when to assess whether a client had the capacity to make decisions about their care.

Caring

Good

Updated 23 July 2019

We had not previously rated this service. We rated it as

Good

because:

  • Staff cared for clients with compassion. Feedback from clients confirmed that staff treated them well and with kindness.

  • Staff provided emotional support for clients to minimise their distress.

  • Staff involved clients and those close to them in decisions about their care.

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 July 2019

We had not previously rated this service. We rated it as

Good

because:

  • The service planned and provided services in a way that met the needs of local people.

  • The service took account of people’s individual needs.

  • People could access the service when they needed it.

  • The service treated concerns and complaints seriously, and had systems in place to investigate them and learn lessons from the results, and share these with all staff.

However, we also found the following issues that the service provider needs to improve:

  • Improve facilities for those people who do not speak English as a first language.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 23 July 2019

We had not previously rated this service. We rated it as

Requires improvement

because:

  • The service did not have robust systems in place to meet the fit and proper persons regulation.

  • The service needed to be able to assure itself that it could evidence that all staff members had been through a robust employment process and that they could provide evidence of qualifications and disclosure and barring service checks having been completed.

However:

  • The service engaged well with clients and staff to plan and manage services.

Checks on specific services

Diagnostic imaging

Requires improvement

Updated 23 July 2019

Before the Stork is an independent provider established in 2006 to provide parents with a memorable keepsake of their pregnancy through professional images and film of their unborn baby.

We rated this service as requires improvement because the service could not assure itself that the staff had received the right level of safeguarding training and the safeguarding policy was not in line with current guidance.