You are here

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 24 December 2018

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

At our previous inspection on 5, 6 March 2018, we found, in addition to providing a service for patients through the provider website, www.e-med.co.uk; the provider was also providing consultations, private healthcare referrals and prescriptions for five external companies; ‘Health Express Healthcare’; ‘Menscare UK Ltd’; ‘PharmacyDirectGB’; ‘Healthwise’; and ‘Uk-med’. On 8 March 2018 the provider was issued an urgent Notice of Decision under Section 31 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008, to impose conditions on their registration as a service provider as we found the provider was not providing a safe, effective, caring, responsive and well led service for patients.

We imposed the following urgent conditions on the registration of E-Med Private Medical Services Ltd:

• The registered provider must not provide online doctor consultations or prescribe any medicine or medicinal product that contains a medicine, for service users for any companies or websites other than www.e-med.co.uk.

• The registered provider must not prescribe to any service user any medicine, or medicinal product that contains a medicine, other than Naltrexone.

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at E-Med Private Medical Services Ltd on 1 November 2018 to follow up on breaches of regulations.

This report outlines our findings in relation to the service with the above three urgent conditions imposed:

Are services safe? – we found the service was providing a safe service in accordance with the relevant regulations. Specifically:

  • Arrangements were in place to safeguard people, including arrangements to check patient identity.
  • People were told about the risks associated with medicines used outside of their licence.
  • Suitable numbers of staff were employed and appropriately recruited.
  • Risks were assessed and action taken to mitigate any risks identified.

Are services effective? - we found the service was providing an effective service in accordance with the relevant regulations. Specifically:

  • Following patient consultations information was appropriately shared with a patient’s own GP, with their consent, in line with GMC guidance.
  • Quality improvement activity, including clinical audit, took place.
  • Staff received the appropriate training to carry out their role.

Are services caring? – we found the service was providing a caring service in accordance with the relevant regulations. Specifically:

  • The provider carried out checks to ensure consultations by the doctor met the expected service standards.
  • Patient feedback reflected they were satisfied with the service they had received.
  • Patients had access to information about clinicians working at the service.

Are services responsive? - we found the service was providing a responsive service in accordance with the relevant regulations. Specifically:

  • Information about how to access the service was clear and the service was available 7 days a week.
  • The provider did not discriminate against any client group.
  • Information about how to complain was available and complaints were handled appropriately.

Are services well-led? - we found the service was providing a well-led service in accordance with the relevant regulations. Specifically:

  • The service had clear leadership and governance structures.
  • A range of information was used to monitor and improve the quality and performance of the service.
  • Patient information was held securely.

The areas where the provider should make improvements are:

  • Increase the health information available to patients about leading healthier lives.
  • Review the provision of a male consulting doctor to provide patients with a choice of either a male or female clinician to undertake their consultation.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 24 December 2018

Effective

Updated 24 December 2018

Caring

Updated 24 December 2018

Responsive

Updated 24 December 2018

Well-led

Updated 24 December 2018