You are here

Nichols Court Extra Care Scheme Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 February 2019

This inspection of Nichols Court Extra Care Housing Scheme took place on 9 January 2019. Our visit to the office was announced to make sure the registered manager was available.

Nichols Court Extra Care Housing Scheme is a domiciliary care agency that provides personal care to people living in their own flats at Nichols Court. It provides a service to older adults. At the time of our visit 26 people were using the service.

Not everyone using Nichols Court Extra Care Housing Scheme received a regulated activity; CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with ‘personal care’; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also take into account any wider social care provided.

There was a registered manager at this agency who was supported by Customer Care Officers and the organisation’s senior management. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our previous inspection on 15 April 2016 we rated this service as Good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Staff knew how to keep people safe, how to respond to possible harm and how to reduce risks to people. There were enough staff who had been recruited properly to make sure they were suitable to work with people. Medicines were administered safely. Staff had enough equipment, such as gloves and aprons, to make sure that infection control was maintained. Lessons were learnt from accidents and incidents and these were shared with staff members to ensure changes were made to staff practice.

People’s care was planned and delivered in line with good practice guidance. People were cared for by staff who had received the appropriate training and had the skills and support to carry out their roles. Staff helped people to eat and drink and to do so in a way that also supported their health needs. Staff had information if they needed to refer people to health care professionals and they followed the advice professionals gave them.

Staff understood and complied with the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA). People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives. Staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the agency supported this practice.

Staff were caring, kind and treated people with respect. People were listened to and were involved in their care and what they did on a day to day basis. People’s right to privacy was maintained by the actions and care given by staff members.

People’s personal and health care needs were met and care records provided staff with enough guidance in how to do this. A complaints system was in place and there was information so people knew who to speak with if they had concerns. Staff had guidance about caring for people at the end of their lives.

Staff were supported by the registered manager, who had identified areas for improvement and developed a plan to address these. The provider’s monitoring process looked at systems throughout the service, identified issues and staff took the appropriate action to resolve these. People’s, relatives and staff views were sought, with positive results.

Further information is in the detailed findings below

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 February 2019

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 14 February 2019

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 14 February 2019

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 14 February 2019

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 14 February 2019

The service remains Good.