You are here

Archived: Felmingham Old Rectory Inadequate

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Inadequate

Updated 26 September 2019

About the service

Felmingham Old Rectory is a residential care home that was providing personal care to 16 people aged 65 and over, and younger people, at the time of the inspection. The service can support up to 41 people. The home is an adapted period building set in its own grounds. Accommodation is over two floors.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

People remained at risk of avoidable harm through the provider’s failure to consistently identify, assess, manage and mitigate risk. This included putting people at risk of abuse and receiving unsafe care. People did not receive their medicines as prescribed and this had resulted in harm.

The governance of the service remained ineffective. This was due to inconsistent and changing management and failure to promptly act on identified concerns. There was a lack of accountability on behalf of the provider and a failure to act promptly on long identified concerns. This had resulted in people receiving unsafe care that exposed them to the risk of avoidable harm.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection (and update)

The last rating for this service was inadequate (report published 6 June 2019) where nine breaches to regulations were found.

Shortly following our last comprehensive inspection in May 2019, the local authority terminated their contract with the service. This resulted in nine people being moved out of the service. At the time of this inspection in June 2019, urgent reviews were being undertaken of all other local authority placed people with the view of finding alternative placements for them.

Why we inspected

We received concerns in relation to the management of risk and the governance arrangements. As a result, we undertook a focused inspection to review the Key Questions of Safe and Well-led only.

We reviewed the information we held about the service since our last inspection in May 2019 which indicated we did not need to reinspect the other Key Questions of Effective, Caring and Responsive. Ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for those Key Questions were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection.

The overall rating for the service remains inadequate. This is based on the findings at this inspection. We found evidence that people were at risk of harm from these concerns. Please see the Safe and Well-led sections of this full report.

Following our inspection, the provider took some action to mitigate the risks found.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Felmingham Old Rectory on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Enforcement

At this inspection, we have identified breaches in relation to the safe care and treatment of people, the governance of the service and the provider’s regulatory responsibilities.

Our findings at this inspection confirmed the actions we took following the comprehensive inspection completed in May 2019 where serious and widespread concerns were found. Following that inspection, we took urgent enforcement action to restrict admissions into the service. Further enforcement action was taken which cannot be reported on at this time.

Full information about CQC’s regulatory response to the more serious concerns found during inspections is added to reports after any representations and appeals have been concluded.

Follow up

We will continue to closely monitor information we receive about the service, and work with partner agencies, until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

The overall rating for this service is ‘Inadequate’ and the service remains in ‘special measures’. This means we will keep the service under review and, if we do not propose to cancel the provider’s registration, we will re-inspect within 6 months to check for significant im

Inspection areas

Safe

Inadequate

Updated 26 September 2019

The service was not safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Inadequate

Updated 26 September 2019

The service was not effective.

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Inadequate

Updated 26 September 2019

The service was not caring.

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Inadequate

Updated 26 September 2019

The service was not responsive.

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Inadequate

Updated 26 September 2019

The service was not well-led.

Details are in our well-Led findings below.