You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

About the service:

Croftdown House is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. Nursing care was not provided. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Croftdown House accommodates up to ten people with mental health needs in one adapted building. At the time of the inspection, there were six people using the service. Croftdown House is located on a residential road in Coulsdon.

Rating at last inspection:

At the previous inspection in September 2016, the service was rated good overall.

Why we inspected:

We inspected Croftdown House on 14 and 15 May 2019. This was a planned comprehensive inspection to check that the service remained good and continued to be well-led. At this inspection the overall rating for this service remains good.

People’s experience of using this service:

People were satisfied with the quality of care they received. They were supported by staff who were caring and compassionate. There was a consistent staff team who knew people well. Staff respected people’s right to choose every aspect of their care and how they spent their time day to day. People led full lives which reflected their age, gender and interests.

The registered manager and staff understood the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and the specific requirements of the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). People were involved in planning their care and decided how their care was provided. People had regular opportunities to feedback to staff on the support they received and any changes they wished to make.

People were protected from abuse. There were enough staff during the day and night to support people safely and meet their needs. People received their medicines as prescribed. People had enough to eat and drink and were encouraged to have a balanced diet. People’s physical and mental health were regularly monitored and they had access to external healthcare professionals and services.

Staff were managed by an experienced registered manager who understood the responsibilities of her role. People felt able to approach the registered manager with any comments, suggestions or complaints and were confident their comments would be acted on. The registered manager had established effective systems to monitor and improve the quality of care people received.

For more details, please see the full report.

Follow up:

We will continue to monitor the service through the information we receive. We will inspect in line with our inspection programme or sooner if required.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

The service was safe.

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

The service was effective.

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

The service was caring

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

The service was responsive.

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

The service was well-led.

Details are in our Well-led findings below.