You are here

SQ Carers Ltd Requires improvement

We are carrying out a review of quality at SQ Carers Ltd. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 10 August 2019

About the service: SQ Carers Limited is registered to provide personal care to people living in their own homes, including older people and people living with dementia. At the time of our inspection visit, the service supported 21 people.

People’s experience of using this service:

We last inspected SQ Carers Limited in May 2018 when we rated the service as 'Requires Improvement' in Safe, Caring, Responsive and Well Led, together with a breach of the regulations. At this inspection we found key questions of ‘Safe', 'Responsive' and 'Well-led' remain 'Requires Improvement' and there are continuing breaches of the regulations, with one new breach.

The registered manager and compliance manager completed regular audits and checks on the quality of the service. However, shortfalls found at this and the previous inspection in May 2018, had still not been addressed.

The registered manager had not ensured they had effective systems to manage care calls and call timings, to people’s preferred choices. Their action plan following the last inspection said this would be rectified by 2 July 2018, however, improvements were not made. Most people continued to tell us they did not receive their care calls when they wanted. People knew what to do if they had a concern or complaint, but in two cases, people said when they had raised concerns about the call timings, nothing had changed. They did not feel listened to or that their opinions mattered.

There was a system in place to manage risks associated with people’s care needs, however some assessments did not always provide staff with consistent information to manage those risks. In addition to this, staff were not consistent in their recording and monitoring of some people’s needs. There was a potential for changes in people’s physical and emotional wellbeing not be identified.

Safe recruitment policies were not followed. Five out of six staff recruitment files failed to evidence necessary employment checks on people’s character, fitness and ability to support vulnerable people, because they were not completed. The provider failed to follow their own recruitment policies and procedures.

People said they were confident in the staff's skills and abilities to look after them and keep them safe.

People's needs were assessed before they started using the service to make sure staff could deliver the care that they needed. People and relatives said they had agreed to the care and support they received. Care plans were not all up to date and did not include person-centred information.

Most people and relatives said staff were kind, compassionate and caring and took their time to carry out their duties and did not rush. However, some people said staff had limited time with them and when concerns had been raised, they felt no action had been taken to reduce their anxieties.

Most people self-administered their medicines or had relatives to help them. Where staff supported with medicines, records showed risks of error where kept to a minimum.

People were supported people to access health care professionals when they needed them. The staff worked with other agencies to provide joined up care.

Staff followed safe infection control practices.

Care and support was given in line with legislation and guidance, such as following the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005. People's personal information was still accessible on staff’s personal mobile telephones, although less information limited potential for unwanted sharing of personal information.

We reported that the registered provider was in breach of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. These were:

Regulation 17 Regulated Activities Regulations 2014 - Good governance

Regulation 19 Regulated Activities Regulations 2014 – Fit and proper persons employed.

Rating at last inspection: Requires Improvement (The last report was published on 16 June 2018).

Why we inspected: This was a pla

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 10 August 2019

The service was not always safe

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 August 2019

The service was effective

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 August 2019

The service was caring

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 10 August 2019

The service was not always responsive

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 10 August 2019

The service was not always well led

Details are in our Well Led findings below.