You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 March 2018

This inspection took place on 4 January 2018 and was unannounced. This meant no-one at the service knew we were planning to visit.

We checked progress the registered provider had made following our inspection on 15 August 2016 when we found two breaches of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. These were Regulation 11, Need for consent and Regulation 17, Good Governance. We found the registered provider was no longer in breach of these regulations.

Following the last inspection, we asked the registered provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and by when to improve the key questions of effective, responsive and well-led to at least good. We found improvements had been made in effective and well-led. Further improvements were still required in the key question of responsive.

Holmwood Nursing Home is a ‘care home.’ People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Holmwood Nursing Home is a purpose built care home located on the outskirts of Sheffield. The home provides accommodation for up to 41 people over two floors. The care provided is for people who have needs associated with those of older people, particularly those living with dementia. On the day of our inspection there were 36 people living in the home.

The manager had worked for the registered provider for six years and had been at Holmwood Nursing Home for approximately two months at the time of our inspection. She was in the process of registration with CQC. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We saw people received appropriate care and support to meet their needs. However, some people’s care records needed updating to reflect this. We saw the manager was in the process of reviewing and updating everyone’s care records.

Staff understood what it meant to protect people from abuse. They told us they were confident any concerns they raised would be taken seriously by management.

There were enough staff available to ensure people’s needs were met. The registered provider had robust recruitment procedures to make sure staff had the required skills and were of suitable character and background.

Medicines were stored safely and securely, and procedures were in place to ensure people received their medicines as prescribed.

We saw the premises were clean and well maintained. Staff understood their roles and responsibilities in relation to infection control and hygiene.

Staff understood the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The registered provider’s policies and systems supported this practice.

People were supported to access relevant health and social care professionals to ensure they were getting the care and support they needed to best meet their needs.

Staff were provided with relevant training to make sure they had the right skills and knowledge for their role. We saw plans were in place for regular staff supervision and appraisal meetings to ensure staff were fully supported.

People and their relatives told us they enjoyed the food served at Holmwood Nursing Home, which we saw took into account their dietary needs and preferences.

We saw the signage and decoration of the premises were suitable to meet the needs of people living with dementia.

Positive and supportive relationships had been developed between people, their relatives, and staff. People told us they were treated wi

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 March 2018

The service was safe.

There were clear procedures in place to recognise and respond to any allegations of abuse. Staff had received training in this area.

There were sufficient numbers of staff employed to meet people’s needs. Recruitment procedures made sure staff were of suitable character and background.

We found systems were in place to make sure medicines were safely stored, and people received their medicines as prescribed.

Effective

Good

Updated 4 March 2018

The service was effective.

The service was meeting the requirements of the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards. The manager and care staff had an understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and understood what this meant in practice.

Staff were provided with relevant training and supervision to make sure they had the right skills and knowledge to support people.

People were assisted to maintain their health by being provided with a balanced diet and supported to access a range of health and social care professionals.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 March 2018

The service was caring.

People and their relatives told us the staff were kind and caring.

Staff knew the people they supported well and were therefore able to provide the care and support people needed in a person-centred and sensitive way.

People’s privacy and dignity was respected and promoted.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 4 March 2018

The service was not always responsive.

People’s care records needed updating to reflect their current care and support needs. We saw plans were in place to do this.

The service had an up to date complaints policy and procedure. People and their relatives told us were confident in reporting any concerns to staff and knew they would be taken seriously.

There was a range of activities available to people to join in if they wanted to.

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 March 2018

The service was well-led.

There were effective quality assurance systems in place and these took into account the views of people who used the service.

Staff were clear about their roles and responsibilities. They told us they felt supported by the management team, who they said were approachable.

The service had up to date policies and procedures which reflected current legislation and good practice guidance. These were readily available to people, their relatives and staff.