You are here

Chandlers Ford Care Home Good

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

We undertook an unannounced inspection of this home on 25 April 2018. When we completed our previous comprehensive inspection of Chandlers Ford Care Home in April 2016 we found concerns relating to the management of people’s pain and their wounds. At this time these concerns were reported under the key question of, “Is the service effective?” We reviewed and refined our assessment framework and published the new assessment framework in October 2017. Under the new framework these concerns are included under the key question of “Is the service responsive?” Therefore, for this inspection, we have inspected both of these key questions to make sure all areas are inspected to validate the ratings.

In April 2016 the home was rated Good overall with Requires Improvement in the Responsive domain as improvements were required in wound care and pain management in the home. At this inspection we saw these improvements had been made. In September 2017 we carried out a focussed inspection in response to concerns people had raised about the levels of staffing in the home. We were unable to substantiate these concerns at that time and the rating of the home remained Good. At this inspection we found the home remained Good in all domains.

Chandlers Ford Care Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

The care home provides accommodation, nursing and personal care for up to 45 older people. Accommodation is arranged over two floors with stair and lift access to all areas. At the time of our inspection 25 people lived in the home.

A registered manager had been in place since 12 March 2018 at the time of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Before the inspection, we had received concerns about the cleanliness and hygiene in the home from members of the public. At this inspection we were unable to substantiate these concerns. The home was clean and odourless and staff had a good understanding of infection control measures which were in place.

Whilst we received mixed feedback at our inspection about staffing levels in the home, there were sufficient staff deployed to meet people’s needs and ensure their safety and welfare. Staff recruited to the home had been assessed as to their suitability to work with people.

People received care which was person centred and individual to their specific nursing needs. Staff had a good understanding of people’s needs and clearly knew people well. The registered provider was taking steps to improve the recording of people’s social and personal histories in their care records.

There were effective systems in place to plan and implement end of life care for people to ensure this met their needs and preferences.

Risks associated with people’s care, including the safe administration of medicines, had been identified and actions identified to mitigate these.

Where people could not consent to their care, staff sought appropriate guidance and followed legislation designed to protect people’s rights and freedom. Staff knew how to keep people safe and understood how to report any concerns they may have about the care people received.

People received nutritious food in line with their needs, likes and preferences.

People were cared for in a kind and compassionate way and were encouraged to interact with each other and participate in a wide variety of stimulating activities and events.

There was a system in place to allow people to express any concerns or complaints they may have, and p

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service remained Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service had improved to Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service remained Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service remained Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service remained Good.