You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 June 2019

About the service:

Ashton View Care home is owned and managed by HC-One and is situated in the centre of Ashton in Makerfield, Wigan. The accommodation is provided in three separate units. Evans unit (General Nursing) is situated on the ground floor, Gerrard unit (Dementia Nursing) is situated on the first floor and Pilling unit (Residential) is on the second floor.

People’s experience of using this service:

We carried out this comprehensive inspection on 15 and 20 May 2019. At the time of the inspection there were 55 people living at the home. We found improvements had been made since our last comprehensive inspection in March 2018.

We have made two recommendations regarding the recording of safeguarding concerns (Safe) and dementia friendly environments (Effective).

People said they felt safe living at the home, with staff demonstrating a good understanding about how to protect people from the risk of harm.

Staff were recruited safely, with appropriate checks carried out to ensure there were no risks presented to people using the service.

Maintenance checks of the premises and the servicing of equipment was carried out throughout the year to ensure they were safe to use.

There were enough staff to care for people safely.

People received their medication safely.

Accidents and incidents were monitored and any actions taken to prevent future re-occurrence were recorded.

People’s mental capacity was kept under review and deprivation of liberty safeguards (DoLS) applications were submitted to the local authority as required.

Staff received the necessary training and support to help them in their roles. Staff supervisions and appraisals were carried out and gave staff the opportunity to discuss their work.

People told us they liked the food available and we saw staff supporting people at meal times, if they needed assistance. Where people needed modified diets due to having swallowing difficulties, these were provided.

People living at the home and visiting relatives made positive comments about the care provided at the home. The feedback we received from people we spoke with was that staff were kind and caring towards people.

People said they felt treated with dignity and respect and that staff promoted their independence as required.

Complaints were handled appropriately. Compliments were also maintained about the quality of service provided.

There were a range of activities available for people to participate in and we observed these to be well attended by people living at the home during the inspection.

We received positive feedback from everybody we spoke with about management and leadership within the home. Staff said they felt supported and could approach the home manager with any concerns they had about their work.

Rating at last inspection:

Our last inspection of Ashton View Nursing Home was in March 2018. The overall rating at that inspection was ‘Requires Improvement’. The report was published in May 2018. The ratings for each key question were as follows:

Safe – Requires Improvement

Effective - Good

Caring - Good

Responsive - Requires Improvement

Well-led – Requires Improvement

We identified regulatory breaches regarding person centred care and good governance and issued requirement notices which were then followed up at this inspection.

Why we inspected:

This inspection was carried out inline with our inspection methodology timescales services rated Requires Improvement.. This meant we needed to re-inspect within 12 months following the publication of the last report.

Follow up:

We will continue to monitor information and intelligence we receive about the home to ensure good quality care is provided to people. We will return to re-inspect in line with our inspection timescales for ‘Good’ rated services, however if any further information of concern is received, we may inspect sooner.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 June 2019

The service was Safe.

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 June 2019

The service was Effective.

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 25 June 2019

The service was Caring.

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 June 2019

The service was Responsive.

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 June 2019

The service was Well-led.

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.