You are here

Shinfield Health Centre Good Also known as South Reading and Shinfield Group Medical Centre

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 9 August 2019

We carried out an announced follow up inspection at Shinfield Health Centre on 14 March 2018. The overall rating for the practice was good. The practice was rated as requires improvement for providing responsive services.

The report on the March 2018 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Shinfield Health Centre on our website at .

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 19 June 2019 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice is now rated as good and is rated as good for providing responsive services.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The practice had implemented an action plan to respond to low patient satisfaction regarding access and appointments at Shinfield Health Centre.
  • Actions had been taken in accordance with this action plan and in-house surveys were completed to assess the effectiveness of these changes.
  • Patient satisfaction regarding accessing the practice and appointment availability had improved.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Effective

Good

Caring

Good

Responsive

Good

Well-led

Good
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 19 April 2018

The provider had taken the action included in their action plan and this population group is now rated good.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 19 April 2018

The provider had taken the action included in their action plan and this population group is now rated good.

Older people

Good

Updated 19 April 2018

The provider had taken the action included in their action plan and this population group is now rated good.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 19 April 2018

The provider had taken the action included in their action plan and this population group is now rated good.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 19 April 2018

The provider had taken the action included in their action plan and this population group is now rated good.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 19 April 2018

The provider had taken the action included in their action plan and this population group is now rated good.