You are here

Vital Healthcare Services Limited Good

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 January 2019

Vital Healthcare Services Ltd provides care and support to people living in a supported living setting, so that they can live in their own home as independently as possible. People’s care and housing is provided under separate contractual agreements. CQC does not regulate premises used for supported living; this inspection looked at people’s personal care and support.

This announced inspection was started on 17 October 2018 and we continued the inspection for another day on 18 October, we gave the service 48 hours’ notice of the inspection site visit because some of the people using it could not consent to a home visit from an inspector, which meant that we had to allow the service time to arrange for a ‘best interests’ decision about us visiting people.

On the day of our inspection 20 people were using the service, some of whom were receiving 24-hour support.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons.' Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We last inspected this service in May 2017 and rated the service as Requires Improvement in all key questions except Caring, which we rated as good. This meant that the service was rated as Requires improvement overall. We found the service was in breach of two regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.

During that inspection, we found that people who used the service were not always safe and well cared for. Staff had received medicines training, but medicines were not managed safely as people had not always been given their prescribed medicines and medicine records had not always been completed accurately. Risks assessments were in place, but staff had not always followed the care plan which had put people at risk of unsafe care.

During that previous inspection we also found that staff were not supported well enough to carry out their roles, staff supervision was not consistent and staff had not used their training to de-escalate situations effectively. Staff had acted in a reactive rather than a proactive way and acted in a reactive rather than a proactive way. People did not always have care plans in place when they began to use the service. There was a complaints policy and procedure but the actions taken as a result of complaints had not fully addressed the situation. The quality assurance systems were not robust enough and had not identified the concerns we found during that inspection in May 2017.

Following the last inspection, we asked the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and by when to improve the quality of care and support people received to at least good.

During this inspection on 17 and 18 October 2018, we found that significant improvements had been made towards meeting the requirements to help ensure that people received an improved quality of service and there were no longer any breaches of regulation.

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The service was well led; the registered manager was knowledgeable about the people being supported and has recruited a care coordinator and an operations manager since our last inspection to improve the running of the service. People, their relatives and staff told us that there had been improvements in the way the service was run since our last inspection in May 2017 and that the registered manager was supportive and had

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 11 January 2019

The service was safe.

There were systems in place to minimise risks to people and to keep them safe.

There were enough staff to meet people’s needs. Recruitment checks were made to protecting people from staff not suitable to work in care.

People were provided with their medicines when they needed them and in a safe manner.

Effective

Good

Updated 11 January 2019

The service was effective.

Staff were trained and supported to meet people’s needs effectively.

The staff were aware of and understood the Mental Capacity Act.

People’s nutritional needs were assessed and staff offered advice and support to people when needed.

People were supported to maintain good health and had access to appropriate services, which ensured they received ongoing healthcare support.

Caring

Good

Updated 11 January 2019

The service was caring.

People were treated with respect and their privacy, independence and dignity was maintained.

People and their relatives were involved in making decisions about their care and these were respected.

Responsive

Good

Updated 11 January 2019

The service was responsive.

People were provided with personalised care to meet their assessed needs and preferences.

Investigations were carried out to address people’s concerns and complaints.

Well-led

Good

Updated 11 January 2019

The service was well-led.

People were asked for their views about the service and their comments were listened to and acted upon.

Quality assurance systems were in place that identified shortfalls, which were addressed and enabled the service to improve the service they offered people.