You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 19 May 2020

We undertook a focused inspection of CP Dental on 29 March 2019. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was carried out by a CQC inspector.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of the practice on the 10 September 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions.

We found the registered provider was not providing well-led care and was in breach of regulation 17 and 19 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for dental practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the areas where improvement was required.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

Background

CP Dental provides NHS and private treatment to patients of all ages.

There is level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Car parking spaces are available on the main road at the front of the practice.

The dental team includes two dentists, one dental hygienists, two dental nurses and a receptionist. The practice has two treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by a partnership and as a condition of registration must have a person registered with the Care Quality Commission as the registered manager. Registered managers have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run. The registered manager at CP Dental is the principal dentist.

During the inspection we spoke with the principal dentist and the receptionist.

We looked at practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service is managed.

The practice is open 9am to 5.30pm Monday to Friday and Saturday morning between 9am and 1pm to treat private patients. The practice closes for lunch between 1pm and 2pm daily.

Our findings were:

  • The provider had made good improvements in relation to the regulatory breach we found at our previous inspection and was now providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 18 October 2018

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had systems and processes to provide safe care and treatment. They used learning from incidents and complaints to help them improve.

Staff received training in safeguarding and knew how to recognise the signs of abuse and how to report concerns.

Staff were qualified for their roles and the practice completed recruitment checks. Improvements were needed to these.

Premises and equipment were clean and properly maintained. The practice generally followed national guidance for cleaning, sterilising and storing dental instruments though improvements were needed.

The practice had suitable arrangements for dealing with medical and other emergencies.

Effective

No action required

Updated 18 October 2018

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dentists assessed patients’ needs and generally provided care and treatment in line with recognised guidance.

Patients described the treatment they received as calming and efficient. The dentists discussed treatment with patients so they could give informed consent. We noted this was not always recorded in their records. This was confirmed by two patients who feedback to us during the inspection.

The practice had clear arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals.

Staff completed training relevant to their roles.

Caring

No action required

Updated 18 October 2018

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We received feedback about the practice from 11 people. Patients were positive about all aspects of the service the practice provided. They told us staff were supportive, professional and friendly.

They said that they were given clear explanations about dental treatment, and said their dentist listened to them. Patients commented that they made them feel at ease, especially when they were anxious about visiting the dentist.

We noted CCTV was present around the practice which included dental treatment rooms. The location of the CCTV could be improved to ensure patient dignity is respected at all times.

 

Responsive

No action required

Updated 18 October 2018

Are services responsive to people’s needs?

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice’s appointment system was efficient and met patients’ needs. Patients could get an appointment quickly if in pain.

Staff considered patients’ different needs. This included providing facilities for disabled patients and families with children. The practice did not have access to interpreter services.

The practice took patients views seriously. They valued compliments from patients and had systems in place to respond to concerns and complaints quickly and constructively.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 19 May 2020

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Effective action had been taken to address the shortfalls we had identified at our previous inspection. For example; the management of antimicrobial prescribing and infection control audits were carried out in line with national guidance.

Decontamination of instruments and validation of equipment used in the process followed national guidelines.

Fire safety and patient record audit action plans were carried out.

Staff recruitment processes were improved to ensure new staff received essential checks before they started to work at CP Dental.

We identified several shortfalls which did not constitute a breach of regulations but these had also been addressed. Patient dental care record storage, emergency equipment, interpreting services and patient feedback systems were implemented and managed effectively.